Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help creating a flexible cylinder (rubber boot) in an assembly.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
erazorzedge
2347 Views, 5 Replies

Need help creating a flexible cylinder (rubber boot) in an assembly.

Hi, I've been working with Inventor (2014) for a few months and trying to learn as much as I can on my own. Usually what I do is download a 3D CAD part from McMaster Carr or some other place and start from scratch trying to recreate the part or, in this case, the assembly. I'm working on modeling a simple swing-arm type of machine I've made in the past and the I've been able to recreate all of the parts with their proper ranges of motion except one. It's an Inline Ball Joint Linkage that has a rubber boot around it to keep the dust out and possibly grease in. I want to know if it is possible to model the rubber boot so that it would mimic real life movement. Right now, the boot is basically a rigid cylinder and as the linkage swivels, the solid bodies clip through each other. Can this be done? And if so, how?

I've been able to make a flexible hose type of assembly as shown here: https://grabcad.com/library/tutorial-how-to-make-flexible-hose-wire-by-autodesk-inventor. However, creating a 3D drawing with a spline that attaches to work points on the other assemblies causes the Ball Joint to no longer work. It will only rotate as opposed to swiveling.

Please see the attached file.

Product Design Suite 2017 x64
Windows 10 (Build 1511) Professional x64
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
PaulMunford
in reply to: erazorzedge

The short answer is no.

Inventor isn't very good at this kind of flexible assembly. You may have to work around it.

You can either use adaptivity to create a relationship between the parts, or model the whole thing with multibodies.