Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving solids in multi-body parts

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
killbox
7606 Views, 9 Replies

Moving solids in multi-body parts

I am new to Inventor Pro 2013.  I have 17 years of Unigraphics / NX and 2 months of AutoCAD 2013 3D experience .  I am designing a welded table that has lots of tubes to be aligned to each other.  It appears that snaps do not work on solids and there is no way to do a point to point solid move in Inventor.  Is there any way to select a solid, snap to a base point, then move or copy to a snap destination point of another solid?  Does this need to be done in an assembly drawing?  If so, do I have to create a file for each tube and then bring each of them into an assembly?  I would like to draw the table as one part.  Designing all the parts together.  The lack of snaps is strange to me.  I can only snap to end points in sketches.  No midpoints??  I must be missing something very basic and easy.  I have not tried an assembly drawing yet.

I have been working through hours and hours of training videos.  Everything but move, copy and paste has been pretty easy.  I think I need to find an AutoCAD to Inventor transition video.  There are no training courses in my area.  So I'm stuck with online training.  This problem is never addressed and I can't ask the question on a video.

Tags (4)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Curtis_Waguespack
in reply to: killbox

Hi killbox,

It sounds like that working in Assembly is probably the best solution, but you can use the Move Bodies tool to do what you ask about:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2012/Help/0073-Autodesk73/0308-Parts308/0393-Part_fac393/0...

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/06/change-origin-of-imported-model.html