Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 1 of 7 (177 Views)

Minimum dimensions needed

177 Views, 6 Replies
04-03-2012 12:57 PM

All of the sudden after I sketch a rectangle i need 8 dimensions instead of 4.  how do I get it back to only needing 4?

Valued Contributor
schae235
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 2 of 7 (173 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: sweeneym

I'm only guessing here but I think you had one of the end points constrained to the origin. 

 

You can easily add a coincident constraint on one of the corners

 

OR as I prefer add horizontal and vertical constraints to the center marks of the lines of the rectangles.

INV 2012 SP1
Windows 7 64 Bit
ATI FirePro V5800
14.0 GB RAM
Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 3 of 7 (161 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: schae235

No I always draw teh rectangles like this then add 4 dimensions the horizontal and vertical overall lengths then distacnce to center. Now it wants me to constrain the 2 vertical and 2 horizontal lines. as well as dimensioning the lines.

Active Contributor
Accudyne1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 4 of 7 (158 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: sweeneym

Did these get turned off?

 

Tonyimage.jpg

Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 5 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: Accudyne1

Accudyne1, I couldn't reall read your screen shot here but with me switching back and forth from classic to ribbon interface style the problem was fixed.

Active Contributor
Accudyne1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 6 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: sweeneym

The actual image was attached also, but glad you fixed it.  I am guessing it was constraint inference/persistence.  They must have gotten toggled off at some point.

 

Tony

Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 7 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: sweeneym

Thanks

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.