Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
chipwitch2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
Message 1 of 23 (630 Views)

Midplanes in assemblies

630 Views, 22 Replies
11-18-2012 08:59 AM

I'm a little confused.  After reading the documentation for IV 2013, I'm not sure if it's possible to create a midplane between parallel faces of two different parts or not.  I've tried using the workplane buttons in both the 3D Model and the Assembly tabs with no joy.

 

Can someone please clarify?

 

Thank you.

Product Design Suite 2013 Ultimate
Windows 7 64-bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 23 (610 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

11-18-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: chipwitch2

You would need to use a parameter

 

If the one plane is constrained to another work plane, you should be able to use the paramter ID / 2 as your mid distane.

 

Work-Plane 2 is contrained from Work-Plane 1 by contraint "d26". You should then be able to us "d26/2" for your distance when you create your mid Work-Plane

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Employee
t_stramr
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Message 3 of 23 (575 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

11-21-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: chipwitch2

Hi,

 

Inventor 2013 does not provide midplane constraint. Workaround is to create Mate assy constraint between two planar faces. Then use half of constraint modifier(distance) as a parameter when creating new work plane defined by perpedicular distance form a plane.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Robert

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 23 (555 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

11-21-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: t_stramr

Correction, I should  have used "Offset" rather than constrained, but the same parameter methodology will work.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 23 (350 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 09:15 AM in reply to: t_stramr

I know this is an old post, but I was trying to create a midplane at the assy level and could not do it.

 

Robert, you say that this is not supported in Inventor 2013.  You say that like it is supported in a different version.  I just tried it in 2014 and it does not work in it either (unless I am missing something).  I was doing something similar to what you suggested, but that requires the offset to be manually adjusted if something changes.  I wan the midplane to be stay in the middle then things move in the assy.

 

There is an "accepted" IdeaStation thread that addresses this. Hopefully, this will be addressed in a soon-to-be-released version.

Valued Contributor
JavaLodge
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-12-2013
Message 6 of 23 (334 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 11:50 AM in reply to: karthur1

I believe he wanted it to mean that it was not supported in 2013, but may be in future versions precisely because of the Idea Station thread you mentioned.  

 

The method he was metioning goes like this:

 

Make a parameter to reflect the distance apart you want your parts to be, say 'width' or something like that.

When you constrain those parts together, use an offset contraint and when you type in a value for the distance of offset, type in the parameter name you created.

Now make an offset plane from one of the faces you contrained earlier, and make the offset equal to half the distance.  You can use parameter names in equations, so you can just type width/2 and the plane will always remain halfway between those two parts.

 

You have to remember to update the parameter and not the contraint if you want to change the distance between them though.

Hope this helps.  See the attachment for more clarification.

____________________________________________________________
Eat when you're hungry, sleep when you're tired. -Bruce Lee
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 7 of 23 (317 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 01:14 PM in reply to: JavaLodge

Yes, I totally get how he was saying to do it.  Its just that I did not want to have to use parameters (I would forget to change it later).  The way that I did it was to use an assembly sketch with a line between the two surfaces.  I put a point in the middle of the line and dimensioned to the point.  Next, I created a plane and offset the plane with the driven parameter to the center point.

 

Now, when the parts move, the mid plane "automatically" adjust to be between them.  See my video here.

 

Thanks,

Kirk

Valued Contributor
JavaLodge
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-12-2013
Message 8 of 23 (312 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 01:17 PM in reply to: karthur1

Ah, that's neat!  I'll have to remember to do that the next time I need this.  I apoligize if I sounded condescending or anything.  I agree with you that this kind of workaround is a bit silly, and I really hope that Autodesk would add this feature because I would use it every day.

____________________________________________________________
Eat when you're hungry, sleep when you're tired. -Bruce Lee
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 23 (307 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 01:20 PM in reply to: karthur1
This would be a tough one to automate in an assembly. Lines and edges all have mid-points that you can construct to. I don't know how you could get an automatic mid-plane on a assembly. Short of constructing a "Bounding Box" around the assembly and then having a work plane on the mid-point of the edges. An adaptive box, but then as soon as you add a component to the edge of the IAM it would not be included in the adaptive box.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 23 (297 Views)

Re: Midplanes in assemblies

01-15-2014 01:43 PM in reply to: blair
I guess, that I am thinking that as you build a IAM and add parts you could get a automated center mid-plane. I deal to much with vehicles and build everything off the center mid-plane.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube