Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mechanical desktoop vs Inventor challenge

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
mariont55
857 Views, 15 Replies

Mechanical desktoop vs Inventor challenge

Hi,

I've been running Mechanical Desktoop for many years. Everyone tells me it's time to move on to Inventor. Use of excel and variables in MDT is very easy and crucial to my projects. I've posted my problem in Mechanical Desktop forum: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Mechanical-Desktop/Announcement-concerning-Discontinuation-of-Mechanic.... I believe it's page #10 of the post.

Only way I can move on to Inventor is if Inventror has the funcionality that I've been enjoying in MDT. I've attached a couple sample files (dwg and xls) in my post. I don't have any formal training in Inventor.

Can anyone take this challenge and see if what I'm asking is doable. And I don't want to write any macros, or visual basic codes to do what I need done. I'd be pretty dissappointed and shame on Autodesk if Inventor can't do what I need.

Marian

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
pcrawley
in reply to: mariont55

Inventor and Excel LOVE eachother.  

I have a friend in the UK designing hatch-hinges for super yachts.  Each hinge is fitted with a gas strut which provides power assistance on the heavy hatches.  Using Inventor and Excel, he can draw the hinge geometry in a single sketch with blocks (or "profile" if I remember MDT correctly) then feed that data to Excel, adjust some magical numbers, then feed that back to Inventor and watch Inventor build the model.  He can even drag the hatch open and closed in Inventor and watch the force calculations updating real-time in Excel.  He's just applied some conditional formatting in Excel to make cells go red if he exceeds any particular design parameter.