Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 1 of 19 (1,509 Views)

Macros / VBA Editor button not working

1509 Views, 18 Replies
06-22-2011 06:36 AM

I have a users machine that is displaying some odd behaviour.  Their Macros and VBA Editor buttons have stopped working.  We have tried several things already but nothing appears to have any effect.

 

Any suggestions?

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 2 of 19 (1,503 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

06-22-2011 08:04 AM in reply to: CadUser46

Here is an update of the behaviour from my colleague;  (Worth noting we are using our own project file and have the App Options pointing to a local server where the edited Default.ivb sits). 

 

IT did a reinstall on pc but it still doesn’t work.

 

I tested it on another new win7 pc and it had the same problem.

We’re a bit at a lost, because there seems to be no structure here.

 

I’ve checked with all new win7 machines that are in use now, of which 4 work ok, 6 not.

 

On the win7 test machine I got te message from the attached screen print.

 

If I try to do macro when I have a part open I get nothing

 

If I try to do macro when I have a drawing open I get this message:

 

 

 

And then nothing.

 

If I try to do macro with no file open I do get the macro window,

If I do VBA editor I get the editor but it says “no project”, even if I open a file which has code in it.

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 3 of 19 (1,481 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

06-23-2011 02:35 AM in reply to: CadUser46

Anyone care to take a punt at this one?

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 4 of 19 (1,477 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

06-23-2011 03:02 AM in reply to: CadUser46

Can we assume that all Win7 systems had Inventor installed using these instructions?

 

http://teknigroup.com/support/InstallAdsksoftware.html

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 5 of 19 (1,472 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

06-23-2011 04:08 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Ah, no Dennis we cannot assume that.  We are subject to corporate IT and i doubt all of the items would have tick beside them.  I shall pass it on.

 

I would like to assume however that all the installations were done in the same way and majority of them are working including my own.  For the sake of a solution though i will ask them to re-do one machine as per the link and will report back.

 

Thanks.

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 6 of 19 (1,405 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

08-19-2011 01:24 AM in reply to: CadUser46

Without getting into other things this problem has still not been resolved.  There is no project loaded in the VBA editor.  I managed to find one other example of this on the web where a persons Outlook vbaproject.otm file had been corrupted.

 

I did a search but cannot find this file on the mahchines.  Is there an equivalent file that somehow controls the vba window for Inventor?

 

 

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 7 of 19 (1,383 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

08-22-2011 12:30 AM in reply to: CadUser46

Really want to avoid imaging this machine.  Is no-one willing to even take a guess?

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Valued Contributor
ACEDeSmedt
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
Message 8 of 19 (1,356 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

08-24-2011 05:47 AM in reply to: CadUser46

We have the same problem. VBA Editor and VBA not working on a win7-64bit machine. Found a solution yet?

 

Regards,

Klaas De Smedt

If this is the solution, push the solution button :smileywink: (and maybe some kudos)
______________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suit - Ultimate edition (Subscription)
Windows 7 (64bit) 12 Gb RAM - 2x Intel Xeon E5430
Mentor
CadUser46
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-21-2011
Message 9 of 19 (1,350 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

08-24-2011 07:24 AM in reply to: ACEDeSmedt

Hi.  No solution yet.  I have been through many more things that i have not listed here.  Also Rocky has posted a few times on another thread i have in the customization forum.

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 10 of 19 (1,334 Views)

Re: Macros / VBA Editor button not working

08-24-2011 12:22 PM in reply to: CadUser46

(Worth noting we are using our own project file and have the App Options pointing to a local server where the edited Default.ivb sits). 

 

Have you tried coping the Default.ivb to "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 20XX\bin\Macros" and updated your App Options?

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.