Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large Assembly Issues

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
floccipier
872 Views, 6 Replies

Large Assembly Issues

Hi Guys,

I am quite new to inventor and i don't had any formal training - just learned it from videos and books and all the wonderful solutions u have already put their as response to various peroblems. Many thanks.

Currently I m wokring on fairly large assembly of (as it feels to me) 14441 (Total Occurances in Active Document) and 1765 (Open Documents in Session). Its a complex Jumpform system for a skyscrapper.

Now as I went on with the assembly and saving all the parts, bolted connections and subassemblies in network drive - few of them were accidently saved in my local drive. I have setup a project files for this project and other projects and any one in my team changes the project file to open certain model assembly. So now when i open the assembly it goes fine but if someone else in my team opens that up they get errors of unresloved stuff. Now the things for which I need guidances are,

1. If I pack and go the whole assembly to remove the reslove errors - what will happen to my 100s of drawings (idw)?

2. Few of subassemblies had to undergo pack and go so that they can be changed to suit requirement at some other places after being renamed through design assistant. But now when i open my main assembly after setting up my prjecting file - it gives errors of multiple instances for the subassemblies obtained by performing "pack and go", in relation with the orginal sub assemblies.

3. What is the best technique for setting up project, main and subassemblies? Any helping suggestion, links will be much appreciated.