Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Dave_L
Posts: 876
Registered: ‎04-15-2005
Message 11 of 41 (287 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:01 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
Quinn, while Adesk was making us a neat little resource meter (I just used ctrl alt del to get to the windows meter, but thanks anyways Adesk) Solidworks was giving their users 64 bit so now they do not have to worry about resources. We are still limited to 4 gigs ram,...... but we do have a neat meter.
Distinguished Contributor
Dave_L
Posts: 876
Registered: ‎04-15-2005
Message 12 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:03 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
They have had light weight for years and years.
*Troy Grose
Message 13 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:07 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
Are motherboards even readily available with more than 4 slots for Ram??

Dave_L wrote:
> Quinn, while Adesk was making us a neat little resource meter (I just used ctrl alt del to get to the windows meter, but thanks anyways Adesk) Solidworks was giving their users 64 bit so now they do not have to worry about resources. We are still limited to 4 gigs ram,...... but we do have a neat meter.
*browns
Message 14 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:33 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
Lots, here's a cool one:

http://www.8anet.com/merchant.ihtml?pid=2854&lastcatid=170&step=4

On Tue, 28 Mar 2006 19:07:46 +0000, Troy Grose <"mount_mordor
ATbITTmEsPAM Hotmail DOT com">> wrote:

>Are motherboards even readily available with more than 4 slots for Ram??
>
>Dave_L wrote:
>> Quinn, while Adesk was making us a neat little resource meter (I just used ctrl alt del to get to the windows meter, but thanks anyways Adesk) Solidworks was giving their users 64 bit so now they do not have to worry about resources. We are still limited to 4 gigs ram,...... but we do have a neat meter.
*Troy Grose
Message 15 of 41 (287 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:35 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
Wow thats pricey!!

browns@spambrownsperformance.com wrote:
> Lots, here's a cool one:
>
> http://www.8anet.com/merchant.ihtml?pid=2854&lastcatid=170&step=4
>
> On Tue, 28 Mar 2006 19:07:46 +0000, Troy Grose <"mount_mordor
> ATbITTmEsPAM Hotmail DOT com">> wrote:
>
>> Are motherboards even readily available with more than 4 slots for Ram??
>>
>> Dave_L wrote:
>>> Quinn, while Adesk was making us a neat little resource meter (I just used ctrl alt del to get to the windows meter, but thanks anyways Adesk) Solidworks was giving their users 64 bit so now they do not have to worry about resources. We are still limited to 4 gigs ram,...... but we do have a neat meter.
Distinguished Contributor
Dave_L
Posts: 876
Registered: ‎04-15-2005
Message 16 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:40 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
Nice.
*Troy Grose
Message 17 of 41 (287 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 11:44 AM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
16" X 13"...we had better start building an addition

Dave_L wrote:
> Nice.
*Andrew Faix \(Autodesk\)
Message 18 of 41 (289 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 12:08 PM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
To suggest that the only thing we did to address capacity issues was provide
the status indicator is quite disingenuous to the new tools that we
provided. You have a valid point, but please don't reduce our efforts in
this area to simply a memory meter.

--
Andrew Faix
Product Designer - Inventor Drawing Manager
Autodesk


wrote in message news:5124350@discussion.autodesk.com...
Quinn, while Adesk was making us a neat little resource meter (I just used
ctrl alt del to get to the windows meter, but thanks anyways Adesk)
Solidworks was giving their users 64 bit so now they do not have to worry
about resources. We are still limited to 4 gigs ram,...... but we do have a
neat meter.
Distinguished Contributor
diemaker
Posts: 606
Registered: ‎10-21-2004
Message 19 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 02:14 PM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
So now everyone has light weight… what’s next?

SW 2007 has touted 50% smaller file sizes.
Hummm, is that good or bad.
Employee
kgrunawalt
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎03-02-2004
Message 20 of 41 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor??????

03-28-2006 02:28 PM in reply to: *Mr Tony Hamilton
The R11 LOD representation is not the same as the lightweight feature. It does address capacity, but it is a full-fledged representation of the assembly, like postional and design view reps, that offers more control, features, and room to grow. There can be multiple LODs and they can be used in drawings and in export operations. Plus, it doesn't put feathers into your browser.

Katrin Grunawalt /Autodesk/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube