Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
cadlad
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 1 of 16 (757 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

757 Views, 15 Replies
10-24-2013 01:20 PM

A client requires our deliverables to be in AutoCAD dwg format. Therefore, when creating deliverables we open the Inventor dwg, Save Copy As, select AutoCAD dwg, choose Options, select the ini file that contains the settings we want, and add _acad as a suffix to the filename. We add the suffix to avoid sending Inventor dwgs.

 

Problem: The images end up looking like this in the AutoCAD dwg file.

TempEmbed.JPG

 

In the template are two bitmap images. One image is the logo for my company and the other is the logo for the client.

 

Here's how it should work: If an image is inserted into the border and the Link option remains checked, then it will not be embedded in the drawing file. However, if an image is inserted into the border and the Link option is unchecked, then it will be embedded in the drawing file.

 

We've been able to embed images before, do the conversion from Inventor to AutoCAD dwg, and the images appear fine. However, they now do not. To complicate things, the images do not appear for myself and another coworker but they appear fine when a third coworker does the same procedure I and the first coworker do.

Dell Precision T3600 - Windows 7 SP1, 64x
16GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (driver 9.18.13.3165)
Inventor 2013 SP2 Update 2 - *Autodesk Inventor Professional Certified*
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Vault Collaboration 2013
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 679
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 2 of 16 (717 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

10-28-2013 11:36 AM in reply to: cadlad

Hi Cadlad!

 

I'm sorry you're experiencing difficulties with embedded/linked images making it out of Inventor when exporting out as an AutoCAD DWG file. I just did a quick test to see if I could verify this behavior, but was unsuccessful. I am using Inventor 2014 SP1 and AutoCAD 2014 SP1. I note that if I create a title block with both a linked and an embedded image, the embedded image will come through as the embedded in AutoCAD.

 

I have a few questions for you.

 

1. What version of AutoCAD DWG are you exporting to?

2. Are you embedding images in the Border or the Title Block?

3. If the image is linked, perhaps a suggested solution would be to use the Post Processing option "Pack and Go" in the "Options" dialogue. This will create a zip file with all of the referenced files copied in the zip.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Thanks,

 

 



Nathan Chandler


Active Contributor
cadlad
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 3 of 16 (703 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

10-28-2013 04:24 PM in reply to: innovatenate

We have two ini files - one exports as a 2010 and the other as a 2004. I can create one for 2013 and see if that makes a difference. Our company runs the Autodesk Product Design Suite 2013 Standard package.

 

It is embedded in the titleblock. When I checked this, I did so by right clicking and choosing edit. I recieved today a warning I've not gotten before.

default editor.jpg

 

We do not want it linked. We want it embedded so that a single file can be sent. This marks it easier for our clients since not all people that access the files are well versed in AutoCAD like those of us who live in it 8 hrs x 5 days.

 

Nathan,

Did you create Autodesk Support Cases for the following topics? White TempEmbed_(1) in dwg instead of image & Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp.

Dell Precision T3600 - Windows 7 SP1, 64x
16GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (driver 9.18.13.3165)
Inventor 2013 SP2 Update 2 - *Autodesk Inventor Professional Certified*
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Vault Collaboration 2013
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 679
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 4 of 16 (695 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

10-28-2013 05:18 PM in reply to: cadlad

Could you share the INI files with me? You can e-mail me direct at nathan DOT chandler AT autodesk DOT com.

 

Thanks,

 

 



Nathan Chandler


Product Support
innovatenate
Posts: 679
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 5 of 16 (680 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

10-30-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: cadlad

I just bumped into the link and wanted to share this information since it may be applicable to this issue. 

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=7099459&linkID=9242018

 

I hope this helps. Please keep me posted on your progress.

 

Kind Regards,

 

 

 



Nathan Chandler


Active Contributor
cadlad
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 6 of 16 (618 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

12-10-2013 04:21 PM in reply to: innovatenate

My regedit values for images were as follows:

 

BMP      OISbmpfile

GIF         OISgiffile

JPEG      OISjpegfile

JPG        OISjpegfile

PNG       OISpngfile

TIF          TIFImage.Document

TIFF        TIFImage.Document

 

Once I change the value for BMP to Paint.Picture the embedded image error resolved.

Thanks Nathan Chandler.

Dell Precision T3600 - Windows 7 SP1, 64x
16GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (driver 9.18.13.3165)
Inventor 2013 SP2 Update 2 - *Autodesk Inventor Professional Certified*
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Vault Collaboration 2013
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
Mentor
kmiller
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 7 of 16 (551 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

01-03-2014 07:43 AM in reply to: cadlad

Hey there,

 

Just a question on this.  I wanted to use AutoCAD and DWG True view as a viewer to for people outside our department to be able to view our inventor drawings.  (we save as inventor .dwg's for our standards).  However we do have some images that need to be displayed for in-house purposes within our inventor drawings that do not show up when just opened with AutoCAD or DWG true view.  We are still running 2013 software, but I did try opening at 2013 inventor dwg with 2014 CAD software and had the same results.  We also do not have the latest service packs installed for 2013 or 2014 software.  I have tried the steps outlined in the link you provided with no success or change in results.  Images are still displaying as tempembed (####).bmp file icon.  Our images are not linked and are inserted right in the inventor border definition. 

 

Is there any other settings or something I can try within AutoCAD or DWG True view or anything like that to make these display? 

 

Images do show up if I actually run through the exporting and export the files to dwg, however I didn't necessarily want to run that step. 

 

Am I out of luck? 

 

Thanks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this response answers your question please click "Accept as Solution".
Active Contributor
cadlad
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 8 of 16 (542 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

01-03-2014 08:42 AM in reply to: kmiller

KMiller,

 

AutoCAD allows you to bounce back and forth across multiple versions. For example we run all 2013 versions of Autodesk products, but some of our deliverables go to companies that use an older version. No problem though because we can just save it down for them. Not so with Inventor.

 

Starting with Inventor 2013 components act as follows:

You can open components from previous versions but must migrate them to the current version in order to save.

Once something is migrated or saved, then its ability to be opened with a previous version ceases.

 

---

 

People outside your department can view your Inventor drawings in a few ways. 1) You could have them open the Inventor drawing file with AutoCAD. The Inventor components (parts, assemblies) will appear in viewports. 2) You could also Save Copy As to a dwf. Using Design Review, people outside your department can mark up and add comments to the dwfs and send them back to your department. 3) You could Save Copy As an AutoCAD dwg. However, that is giving you the TempEmbed_(1).bmp issue, right?

 

----

 

Here is the solution that worked for us. http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=7099459&linkID=9242018 I went through and set all image file extensions' (Default) entry value to Paint.Picture.

 

----

 

Concerning service packs, here is the information I have for Inventor and AutoCAD.

Autodesk Inventor 2013 64x Edition. Build: 200, Release: 2013 SP2.

Product Version: G.114.0.0, AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP1

 

Please let me know how that goes.

Dell Precision T3600 - Windows 7 SP1, 64x
16GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (driver 9.18.13.3165)
Inventor 2013 SP2 Update 2 - *Autodesk Inventor Professional Certified*
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Vault Collaboration 2013
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
Active Contributor
cadlad
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 9 of 16 (535 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

01-03-2014 08:47 AM in reply to: kmiller

KMiller,

Please explain: Images do show up if I actually run through the exporting and export the files to dwg, however I didn't necessarily want to run that step.

Dell Precision T3600 - Windows 7 SP1, 64x
16GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000 (driver 9.18.13.3165)
Inventor 2013 SP2 Update 2 - *Autodesk Inventor Professional Certified*
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Vault Collaboration 2013
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
Mentor
kmiller
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 10 of 16 (534 Views)

Re: Inventor to AutoCAD dwg bitmap TempEmbed_(1).bmp

01-03-2014 08:50 AM in reply to: cadlad
Hi there, Thanks for the response. Yes i am fully aware of inventor vs AutoCAD's backward compatibility. I just put the version information in there to save the hassle from someone asking. Basically what I want to do is just open up my inventor.dwg file within either AutoCAD or Autodesk DWG True View and have the images show up. I did not want to go through and have to export them or convert them to DWF files. Since we are talking about 1000's of files and a lot of extra work. I was hoping maybe there was some other fix I could try. I did go and change my registry value for the bitmap image but I did not do it to all image files. I only went to this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\.bmp and changed the default value. Do you suggest I do try all the image types listed?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this response answers your question please click "Accept as Solution".

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube