Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
scottishchick
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-10-2005
Message 1 of 8 (171 Views)

Inventor studio - extending timeline?

171 Views, 7 Replies
10-10-2005 04:32 AM
Help! I have just finished creating a 60 second assembly animation but after rendering I realised that the parts move a bit too quickly.
I thought there would be a quick way of extending the timeline to say double the time (120 seconds) with the animation automatically stretching over this time period instead, therefore slowing down the motion of the parts.
I found that this is not the case.
Does anyone know of any quick fix solutions or do I have to change the timing on every individual constraint and component?

Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
orchdes
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎11-28-2003
Message 2 of 8 (171 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

10-10-2005 05:34 AM in reply to: scottishchick
In Studio you would have to extend the time of each event.

How I do it is.

Open in Windows Movie Maker and apply an effect of Slow Down, Half Speed.
*Gary R Smith \(Autodesk\)
Message 3 of 8 (171 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

10-10-2005 09:30 AM in reply to: scottishchick
Studio will not automatically "rescale" the timing of animation events after
you change the duration of the entire animation and as you feared, you'll
need to manually change the timing.

Studio does allow you to grab the "event" within the time line and slide it
left/right to move the event within the timeline. You can also grab the
event boundary boxes and drag them left/right to change the start/end times.

This drag technique might be faster than double-clicking into the event and
manually editing the times in the entry fields.
New Member
scottishchick
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-10-2005
Message 4 of 8 (171 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

10-12-2005 12:40 AM in reply to: scottishchick
Thanks for the replies

Scottishchick
*Nick \(Scots\)
Message 5 of 8 (171 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

10-12-2005 08:14 AM in reply to: scottishchick
wrote in message news:4981817@discussion.autodesk.com...
>Thanks for the replies

>Scottishchick

Another scots user. Are u an Engineer or product designer ?

Nick
New Member
brmjerry
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Message 6 of 8 (92 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

09-12-2012 10:18 AM in reply to: scottishchick

Hi,

 

       Does anyone know of a way to move all of the events on an animation timeline forward at once so I can put a camera action before the events that are on the timeline? Thanks

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,511
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 8 (87 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

09-12-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: brmjerry

I think you will have to drag each start point individually.
How many actions are we talking about?

 

I think I would have started a new thread for this question.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
brmjerry
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Message 8 of 8 (83 Views)

Re: Inventor studio - extending timeline?

09-12-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for the prompt reply. About 70 events, but I am using "animate constraints" and if I don't preserve the relationships between the events exactly, the animation will fail. I was hoping there was a [ctrl] A or something to select all the events. Thanks

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.