Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 1 of 25 (2,386 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor Studio greyed out

2386 Views, 24 Replies
06-19-2012 07:17 AM

I'm a teacher and recently had Inventor Professional 2013 installed on my laptop. 2 of my co-workers have the exact same model of HP Laptop, yet they don't have the same issue as me.

 

When I finish my assembly, I access the Tools bar to find my Inventor Studio is greyed out and can't click it. This is a huge pain in the **** as my laptop is the only one at my training session that is having this problem in a room full of 40 other teachers. After several uninstalls and reinstalls, I have the same problem with no solution in sight.

 

Someone please help as Autodesk support hasn't been able to shed any other light on fixing this issue.

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,811
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 25 (2,381 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: cplach

Hi cplach,

 

It sounds like you've done some trouble shooting with AD, but you didn't mention what you've done other than uninstall / reinstall, so forgive me if you've already checked this:

 

Go to the Tools tab > Add Ins button  and look for the Studio Add-in. If it's there is it loaded?

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 3 of 25 (2,380 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: cplach

Please see the attached screen shot. I have looked in the Add-Ins, it says Inventor Studio is Loaded and supposed to be automatically.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,198
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 25 (2,374 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: cplach

does this happen with every file?

Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 5 of 25 (2,366 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Yes. No matter what file I open, it remains unavailable.

 

I've tried to create new assemblies but I still come across the same problem.

 

 

After disabling and re-enabling through the Add-Ins, I can click Inventor Studio now but all of the children options are greyed out.

Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 6 of 25 (2,353 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: cplach

Tried to reinstall it again and it's still giving me the same problem.

 

Would this have anything to do with activating the product?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,287
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 25 (2,341 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: cplach

cplach wrote:

 

 

Would this have anything to do with activating the product?



No.

Did you follow the Autodesk Clean Uninstall document (search Google)?

Did you install with anti-virus and UAC turned off (important)?

 

Before you go through that again -

I noticed that you are showing from the Tools tab.

Instead of that go to Enviroments tab and select Studio
(once I do that I show an active Render tab and the button Studio button on the Tools tab is grayed out like yours).

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 8 of 25 (2,325 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: cplach

Doing a clean uninstall now. I'll report back in an hour or so with an update.

 

It doesn't really matter if you go through tools or environments to access Inventor Studio. It's executing the same command.

Active Member
cplach
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 9 of 25 (2,318 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: cplach

no such luck.

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,811
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 10 of 25 (2,312 Views)

Re: Inventor Studio greyed out

06-19-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: cplach

Hi cplach,

 

I'm not sure if this will work with Inventor 2013, but maybe it's worth a try:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13404176&linkID=9242018

 

Another thing to look at would be user profiles. Can you log in under / or create a different user profile (as the admin possibly) and start Inventor to see if the issue persists? It seems that I recall issues of a similar type being resolved by recreating a user profile (maybe?)

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com


 

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube