Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
nkeeley
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 1 of 9 (380 Views)

Inventor FEA simulation probe area

380 Views, 8 Replies
12-11-2013 02:15 PM

Hi all. So I've created a successful FEA simulation in Inventor 2014 and obtained results. But I want to see the highest stress in a defined area that is smaller than the entire part (I have some stress concentrations that are throwing off my 'max'). Is there a way to probe an area instead of just a point? I'm tired of creating a dozen probes to find the 'local max'.

 

Thanks!

Nathan

Employee
Bill-Ding
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2012
Message 2 of 9 (331 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-16-2013 07:38 PM in reply to: nkeeley

Hi Nathon,

Good point! there are NO direct tools to show the local Max. value. But you can the Color Bar Settings and Contour Shading to get the Max. point which you want. I hope it can help you. Thanks.

 

Regards,

-Bill

Bill Ding
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,954
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (321 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-16-2013 09:53 PM in reply to: nkeeley

You do have Max and Min boxes. Square box with little square box in lower LH and Upper RH corners. These will produce labels on the model with Min and Max values.

Capture.JPG

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
drguitarum2005
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
Message 4 of 9 (303 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: blair

I remember in 2013 there was a probe tool that would return the value based on where the probe was hovering. Was useful just to see the numbers quickly in an area. Now that has been replaced with a probe tool that requires you to click, and it adds a label with no obvious way to remove that label. What I end up with is 800 labels for a small area that I no longer need.

Contributor
nkeeley
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 5 of 9 (298 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 07:08 AM in reply to: Bill-Ding

Thanks Bill! Contour shading is a useful alternative that I hadn't tried yet. Helps get closer...

Contributor
nkeeley
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 6 of 9 (297 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: blair

Those are max/min for the entire part. I'd like the max/min of a smaller user defined area. Thanks for the response!

Contributor
nkeeley
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
Message 7 of 9 (294 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: drguitarum2005

drguitarum. That would definitely help if it had been kept :smileytongue: But I do know that you can delete probe labels. For some reason they are pretty tricky to grab though. I find it easier to drag one off into space with nothing behind it then right click and delete. Just makes sure I get the right one. Thanks!

Employee
Bill-Ding
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2012
Message 8 of 9 (277 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 06:13 PM in reply to: drguitarum2005

Please find the attached files and have a look. Are there the probe tools which you're finding?

Bill Ding
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,954
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 9 (272 Views)

Re: Inventor FEA simulation probe area

12-17-2013 08:57 PM in reply to: Bill-Ding

It appears the poster is looking for a filter tool to locate the Min or Max areas within a defined area or a part within an assembly.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube