Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor DWG / Solid Works

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
mmaes
619 Views, 8 Replies

Inventor DWG / Solid Works

I have a vendor who uses 2013 Solid Works (In which I have zero experience with) and we use 2013 Inventor and he says he cannot get his Solid Works program to open our Inventor DWGs.  I know I could convert them to DXF files and he would have no problem opening them but that is not our standard when sending parts out and would add an extra process for our purchasing department.  Is there any way besides True View for him to view our DWG files I am missing? 

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
hosford
in reply to: mmaes

your vendor should be able to open and view the dwg files using "Solidworks eDrawings".

I didnt try it with inventor dwg files, but did with acad files.

I could only try it with solidworks 2012, then solidwords could only open 2010 dwg or earlier files.

Thaddeus Hosford
NUC9i9QNX i9-9980HK, Win 10 Pro 64
Nvidia GTX 1650
Inventor 2021
Message 3 of 9
Cadmanto

Save the Inventor drawing out as a .dwg file and Solidworks can open them up directly.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Message 4 of 9
mmaes
in reply to: Cadmanto

We currently save all our Inventor drawings as .dwg by default (no .idw).  I have sent him a .dwg and he says he cannot open in Solid Works.  I know there are viewers he can use to view the .dwg but he would like a way to open it directly in Solid Works.  I was hoping there is an add on or such that could accomplish this.  Agian I am unfamiliar with Solid Works so I am of no help.

Message 5 of 9
Cadmanto

I have used Solidworks for 12 years and I know this works.

Maybe he is unfamiliar on how to do it.  Did you look at my attached link