Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
MadCatter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 1 of 6 (677 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

677 Views, 5 Replies
01-17-2013 08:29 AM

Before I installed the Product Design Suite, Network License.   I did a Clean Uninstall of all Autodesk software: Uninstalled Programs, Deleted remaining Autodesk Folders, Cleared the Registry of all things Autodesk, cleared the Windows Temp folder, and Even ran Windows Install Clean Up Program.   Clean slate, start the install, type in my three redundant license server names, the suite installs without a hitch.  

 

I reboot.  I opened AutoCad Mechanical, and AutoCAd with not issues.   However Inventor, Showcase, Sketchbook, 3ds Max, and Fusion will not load/open,  all is the blue spinning wheel.    Check the Task Manager and see the program in processes, nothing happens.  Then I right click on the image, and I will get a window stating program not responding.

 

I checked my Environmental Variables and the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FLEX and FLEXLM_TIMEOUT are set correctly. 

 

I do understand why my Autocad and Mechanical are the only software that functions out of the suite.     I have done a complete uninstall and re-install and the issue still exists.   Only AutoCAD will Open and function. Intentor will not open.

 

Machine description:

Dell Precision T3500

Intel Xeon W3530 @ 2.80 Ghz

12 gb RAM

ATI FirePro V5800

Win 7 Enterprise 64 bit

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,841
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 6 (675 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

01-17-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: MadCatter

Hi MadCatter,

You might also search here: Installation & Licensing forum.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Member
MadCatter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 3 of 6 (668 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

01-17-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thanks,  Do I need to post the question over there.   Would I get more replies?

 

 I've seen a few folks have similar issues, but haven't seen any solutions.    This is furstrating,  all want or need is Inventor and AutoCAD operational.  

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,873
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 6 (655 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

01-17-2013 09:32 AM in reply to: MadCatter

Did you also clear your Windows user profile of all things Autodesk?  There might be corrupted remnants of something there.  One way to check is to use a different login and see if Inventor, etc will start.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Member
MadCatter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 5 of 6 (607 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

01-18-2013 10:33 AM in reply to: MadCatter

Yes, It was my profile.   Turns out just removing the Autodesk files from it was not enough.   We had to remove it from the registry too. 

 

Inventor still takes awhile to launch, once it's up it operates normally.  

 

Thanks Everyone for your timely help! 

Member
MadCatter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 6 of 6 (558 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 will not Open - New Install

01-23-2013 12:15 PM in reply to: MadCatter

Update:  After I was able to get Inventor to launch it still took 5-6 minutes to open,  I checked hardware, installed updates, drivers, deselected settings, selected setting  etc.....      Local Autodesk support guy told I need to look at OS processes and network to find the bottleneck.    First thing I did was borrow a network license, shut it down, and started inventor, 20 seconds later inventor was up and running.   Turns out a year ago one of our license servers was decommisioned and the users were never notified.   After I updated the enviromental variables with the correct license servers, Inventor launches just fine, alittle slower than it does with a license checked out.   

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube