Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
kroschi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 1 of 20 (2,076 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

2076 Views, 19 Replies
01-07-2013 01:50 AM

I am currently using the Inventor 2013 Students version on Windows 8, but the problem I want to get solved did occur under Windows 7 in exactly the same way and has never changed in any way.
When I want to place a part from the content center in an assembly, and click on the button saying
“place from content center” the window simply does not open. It does not happen anything. The
Setup says everything is installed correctly and I have all *.idcl files on my computer. In the
project dialog box the "configure content center" button also does nothing. I have searched the
help pages, discussion forums and knowledge bases, and found solutions for Inventor versions before
2012. But of course they do not work. Are there any solutions for Inventor 2013? I would be
grateful for any help so that I can use my content center.

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 20 (2,063 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 03:53 AM in reply to: kroschi

- Does the Location of Libraries (Application Options > Content Center tab) match where your .idcl libraries are stored?

 

- In the Add-In Manager, is Content Center shown as Automatic/Loaded?

 

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 738
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 3 of 20 (2,049 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: kroschi

Are you now, or have you in the past, used multiple monitors?

 

I had this problem occur at one point a couple years back when I'd been using an external monitor with my laptop, and then when I went back to just using the built-in screen I couldn't find the content center window.  It was opening up alright, but it was just trying to find its position on the second monitor ... which wasn't there any more.  I don't remember exactly how I did it, but I had to reset Windows' cache of window positions.  I think CCleaner can do it, but I'm not 100% positive.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 20 (2,047 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Much easier than CCleaner or reseting Windows' cache-- when the Content Center window is active, type Alt-Space, M.  This invokes the window move command, and you can use the arrow keys to steer a missing window back on the screen, then hit Enter or take over with the mouse.

Active Member
kroschi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 5 of 20 (2,026 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 01:37 PM in reply to: sbixler

sbixler wrote:

- Does the Location of Libraries (Application Options > Content Center tab) match where your .idcl libraries are stored?

 

- In the Add-In Manager, is Content Center shown as Automatic/Loaded?

 


Yes the location matches and it is shown as Automatic/Loaded. Furthermore, the named File CCAddIn.dll exists in the Location given at the bottom of the Add-In Manager.
Active Member
kroschi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 6 of 20 (2,024 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 01:38 PM in reply to: sbixler

sbixler wrote:

Much easier than CCleaner or reseting Windows' cache-- when the Content Center window is active, type Alt-Space, M.  This invokes the window move command, and you can use the arrow keys to steer a missing window back on the screen, then hit Enter or take over with the mouse.


I tried this before I posted my problem. That is why I could say, that the window does not open. And besides I have never used two monitors.

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 20 (2,013 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 06:06 PM in reply to: kroschi

I'm out of ideas.  You mention that this happened with Windows 7 also-- same computer or different computers?  Is there any other weird stuff happening on this computer, or just Content Center?  Can you open the Content Center editor?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,021
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 20 (2,002 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-07-2013 09:22 PM in reply to: kroschi

The CC edit button within the Project Editor is a little funny in it's operation. When you select it, you get a icon below it with a down icon. You need to select it with the down button (almost a click hold and click function).

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 9 of 20 (1,993 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-08-2013 04:13 AM in reply to: blair

Right, it's a pull-down menu with only one item in it!  See image below.  Apologies if you have already figured this out, but we're grasping at straws...

Configure CC Libraries.PNG

Active Member
kroschi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 10 of 20 (1,982 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 content center window does not open

01-08-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: sbixler

By trying to use the Content Center Editor, I've just now recognized, that no add-in seems to work. I didn't try itbefore , but now I've seen, that the shaft generator and all other generators on the design tab do not work as well.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.