Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
travispeck1983
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 81 of 95 (602 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: johnsonshiue

It happens with Product Deisgn Suite.  2013 has always given us issues so far.  We installed it in August and nothing but issues.  SP1 was installed and it failed right away and Autodesk took it off the market, then I got an email saying SP1.1 was up and installed it on a top users machine for testing and that failed the moment he turned a surface on it crashes.  Its amazing to me because of the specs of the machine.  The size of the model is large so I really cant send it.

 

We have Product Design Suite Ultimate and Premium.  The issues occur on both suites. 

Active Member
travispeck1983
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 82 of 95 (596 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 08:24 AM in reply to: johnsonshiue

I sent one on the users machine.  His email address is JCROSS@VIKINGYACHTS.COM That is where the data set is under.

Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 83 of 95 (579 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

Completely Agree.  This is a prime example of a company becoming to big and being run for the sole purpose of profit.  Everything is driven by Marketing.  As a matter of fact, I'm really surprised they don't have a moderator censoring posts - I can't believe mine are making it up.

 

At the last company I worked for we were using Inventor and we got a new Engineering Manager - One who actually worked.  He used Inventor for about 2 months and thought it was a complete joke.  So he had the company spend $25K+ on new seats of Solidworks and everyone was SO HAPPY!  By the way,  AutoDesk personel hate the "S" word.  Haha - Their eyes glaze over when you say it. 

 

In my experience, anyone who is a big Inventor lover - doesn't know any better.  It's not their fault per say, because they probably haven't used anything else - but be open minded and realistic.  It's like saying Frozen Dinner GMO Chicken is better than fresh cut Grass Feed, Hormone Free New York Strips - Just because you've never eat steak before. [Not a great analogy, but you get the point]

 

Anyway - I'm done ranting.  Good luck to everyone.

 

P.S.  AUTODESK: YOUR PRIVACY POLICY IS RIDICULOUS.

 

 

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time
Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 1,995
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 84 of 95 (538 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-17-2012 10:21 AM in reply to: vmcarbonneau

Hi! Could you send me an email (address found in my signature below) so I can set up a secure account for you? I would like to take a look at the files and the workflow.

Many thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
exSWX
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎05-30-2011
Message 85 of 95 (440 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-18-2012 09:28 PM in reply to: johnsonshiue

I rolled out SP1.1 on 10 workstations and have had no reports of any issues since. It appears to be more stable than the original build.

Autodesk Inventor 2013-64Bit Edition
Intel Xeon W3520 @ 2.67GHz
Win 7 Pro
6.7 System Rating
NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
New Member
mferrara
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 86 of 95 (424 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-18-2012 11:55 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

I installed Sp1, now I can't view the texture of my material coulor. The parts are simply colored with uniform color, if I uninstall Sp1, everything works fine.

Active Member
yeakelme
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 87 of 95 (397 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-19-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: mferrara

mferrara,

 

Take a look at the link below about textures by Chris Mitchell.  Maybe this will help lead you to a solution.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Inventor-2013-projects-over-networks/m-p/3662384#M45...

 

Regards,

 

Mark

Regards,

Mark

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk PDS 2013 Premium/Ultimate, Inventor 2013 SP1.1
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, SP1; 5.9 WEI System Rating
Lenovo S20 ThinkStation MT-M4105-R9U; 16 GB RAM; Xeon W3550 3.07 GHz, 3.06 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, driver 267.45; SpaceNavigator, driver 3.15.5
Employee
ChrisMitchell01
Posts: 378
Registered: ‎09-16-2005
Message 88 of 95 (353 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-19-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: travispeck1983

Can you elaborate further as to what exactly happens since installing SP1.1 ? Do you mean that you're not seeing textures in parts/assemblies after you installed SP1.1 or is this an issue when looking at the contents of your appearance library ?

 

Do you have any screenshots with/without the SP ? If you look at the in document appearances, do you see any errors about image files not being found ? Easiest way is to use the large thumbnail view & then you'll see the warning icon immediately.

 

Please provide additional info so that we can investigate further.

 

Thanks,
Chris 



Chris Mitchell
Inventor Customer Engagement Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 89 of 95 (268 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: travispeck1983

Inventor Pro SP1.1 is running considerably slower than 2012 SP2 in Parts & Assemblies.  Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me?

 

Also, can anyone tell me why my Content Center Parts which were placed in my Assemblies using Inventor Pro 2012 will not link over when those original 2012 Assembly Files are opened in 2013?

 

Is there a proper way to re-link these Content Center Parts?

 

JB

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,873
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 90 of 95 (257 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: DesignerNinja

Go back to your 2012 project file (File Options > Content Center Files) or Application Options (File > Default Content Center files) and find out where those files were placed.  Then you can copy them to the location for 2013.  Or, better yet, establish a location that makes sense for the future and put them there.  If your work is very much project oriented, then you might want the CC files in your project structure, defined by each project.  If you are more product oriented, then a common location on a network drive would be better, with the path set by App Options.  In either case, Inventor treats the CC files location as read-only.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube