Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
QuasiMojo
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 91 of 95 (323 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 10:21 AM in reply to: sbixler
Thanks for the details. I should be set for the next fire drill. Much appreciated, Andrew
Inventor Professional 2014
Windows 7, x64
Dual-core i7, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
HP Elitebook 8540w
Active Contributor
michaeldavis7418
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
Message 92 of 95 (316 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 10:41 AM in reply to: john.retzlaff

I was having isue's with SP1 on severa machines. Any medium to large assemblies and to be saved and opened several times and hour to avoid crashing.

 

Now we have that issue resolved with SP1.1 ... now I can't hatch ..it uses up all of the resources and ram till it crashes/lockes up the pc's.

 

This is on more than one ... and they are all I7, 8 gig systems ..with great cards in them ... so it's not the pc's

 

 

 

Michael Davis
Charlotte, NC

Work ~ Inventor Ultimate 2013 SP1.1
Win 7 64bit ~ i7 20gb
Nvidia Quadro FX 1700

Home ~ Inventor Ultimate 2013 SP1.1
Win 7 64bit i7 - 16gb
Nividia GeForce 9800 GT 1GB
240g Kingston HyperX SSD
Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 93 of 95 (298 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: sbixler

Thanks for the response.  I was able to make your 1st option work.  In 2013, I went to Application Options and set my Content Center path to my 2012 location and all assemblies open up with their respective hardware - AWESOME - THANK YOU!

 

I also understand what you are saying about having the Content Center on a server in a central location.  I am the only Mech Designer at my company and have been pulling Content Center parts from my harddrive.

 

What I don't understand is why I need to copy my 2012 Content Center Files to this central location - I mean, when a new release of Inventor comes out, do I need to keep copying the previous years Content Center to this location?

 

Is there a way to make my OLD Content Center assemblies work with the latest release Content Center???

 

I'm a bit ignorant on this aspect of Inventor, apologies in advance if I'm not understanding you. . .

 

Johnny

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 94 of 95 (288 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: DesignerNinja

What we're working with is two different locations.  One is the libraries location, where all the "recipes" are kept.  The other is the generated components that actually get made from the recipes and appear in your assemblies. 

 

The first is, in your case, the Desktop Content Libraries, which are installed on your hard drive when Inventor is installed.  It's fine right where it is, as long as you backup any custom libraries you create, and migrate them from one version to the next.

 

The second is where you ran into problems, because the default location for the generated components is on your hard drive under your User profile, by version.  So when you get a new version, you have to start over, or copy the stuff from the previous version's repository.  That's why I recommend establishing another location for those components, either with the other project stuff, or in a more central location, depending on the kind of work you do.

Active Contributor
DesignerNinja
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 95 of 95 (259 Views)

Re: Inventor 2013 SP1

10-25-2012 03:14 PM in reply to: sbixler

Ohhhhh. . .

 

That was a really good explanation.  Makes a lot more sense - I'll try to set this up as you are recommending.

 

Thanks Sam.

 

John

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013
DELL M6600 Laptop
Intel Quad Core i7-2920 Extreme 2.5GHz
250 GB SSD / 500 GB HDD
16 GB 1600 MHz RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bit

Designing Ninja's One At A Time

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube