Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
varindersra
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 1 of 10 (617 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

617 Views, 9 Replies
02-07-2013 06:21 AM

Hi,

Is it possible to set print area in Inventor assembly mode. I have a vertical tall assembly that I want to print. But, when I print it includes the Inventor background as well in the print & because of that I am not able to orient my assembly properly. So, is there a way to get rid of the background or set a print area while printing.

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Varinder

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 10 (595 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: varindersra

Try using the Windows Snippet tool to capture screen shots for printing.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
varindersra
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 3 of 10 (586 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: mrattray

Hi,

Thanks for reply. I know I could do whatever I want using snapshot & MS Paint. But, I am looking for direct way of doing it from Invantor itself.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 4 of 10 (583 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 08:27 AM in reply to: varindersra

I don't know of an easy way of getting what your looking for using Inventor alone. The "Snippet" Windows tool will work great for this, try it.

 

I used it to take this creen shot of a part in Inventor:

 

Capture.JPG

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 5 of 10 (580 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: varindersra

Here's what I do when I need a real quick print of an assembly.

Try dragging your inventor window to approximate the size of the paper.

Zoom to the level of what you want to appear in the print.

print.JPG

Adjust your print setup and do a print preview.

You should get something like this.

Print Preview.JPG

 

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Contributor
varindersra
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 6 of 10 (566 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: mpatchus

Hi,

Thanks for reply. That kind of works for me. But, it would be better if there's an option to set print area or remove background while printing or exporting.

 

Thanks a lot!

 

Varinder

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,964
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (548 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-07-2013 09:26 PM in reply to: varindersra

Or use the Autodesk Exchange Apps, there is a free App called "Screenshot". In the very upper portion of the Inventor menu screen (top RH) is fully looking two-tone blue X, clicking on this will open the Apps website.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,873
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 8 of 10 (512 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-08-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: varindersra

Concerning your background printing: printing from a model file will include the background if the App Options is set to 'Gradient', and will not include the background if set to '1 Color'.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Distinguished Contributor
varindersra
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 9 of 10 (478 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-11-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: sbixler

Yes, even though by selecting one color the background doesn't show up in print but it still adds the background area into the print. That what I want to avoid. See attachment for the issue. My print is cming out as shown below.Untitled.jpg

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,873
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 10 of 10 (467 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012- Set Print Area

02-11-2013 08:01 AM in reply to: varindersra

Then try rendering in Studio.  It's been a long time since I've done it, but I believe that if you save your render to .png format, you have the option to select Alpha Channel, which eliminates the background.  But that's extra steps to enter the Studio environnment, set up the render, execute, then open the resulting file and print.  But it is the only way I know of to eliminate the background.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube