Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
SveinE
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 1 of 5 (218 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor 2012/13 on win XP x64?

218 Views, 4 Replies
09-25-2012 08:10 AM

Hi

 

Does anyone have any expirience running Inventor 2012/13 on a win xp x64 system?

It is supported, but does is it stable and what about performance?

 

 

 

Br

svein

Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 2 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012/13 on win XP x64?

09-25-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: SveinE

I ran 2012 on XP 64.  No problems except for I couldnt get shadows or ground reflections to work, not that I really cared.  A big plus was that the file open dialog box remembered the last file opened in the file list section, win7 doesnt which is a real pain.  If it was easy to go back I would just for that.  Can say if win 7 is any faster because I also upgraded hardware when I changed.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,945
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012/13 on win XP x64?

09-25-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: SveinE

Your graphics performance will take the biggest hit staying with XP over Win7. Everything else should run the same.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
SveinE
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (169 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012/13 on win XP x64?

09-25-2012 10:11 PM in reply to: SveinE

Thanks :-)

 

br

Svein

Valued Contributor
streharg
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 5 of 5 (157 Views)

Re: Inventor 2012/13 on win XP x64?

09-26-2012 12:05 AM in reply to: SveinE

I'm still runnign xp sp2 x64.

Had inventor and acad for ages, no problems, now have FDS 2013, and it's working ok for now (inv and acad). Haven't tested other software out yet.

Just remember you don't have dx10, so no fancy stuff e.g. ray tracing in inv.

Performance is more dependend on hardware.

 

Greg

 

Factory design suite 2013 premium
Some old workstation ...
Fancy HP LCD
:smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube