Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
bigfilsing
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-14-2009
Message 1 of 4 (141 Views)

Inventor 2010 import dwg issue

141 Views, 3 Replies
04-16-2012 07:52 PM

Hi all.

 

For over a year i have been using dwg import quite succesfully ( most recently about 3 weeks ago) now all of a sudden it doesnt work.

I have tried the option to "open" then select import under "options" but literally nothing happens. The open window closes and its finished. Doesnt even  open the import options window.

 

I tried to import by clicking "Insert" ACAD on the sketch ribbon bar ...same result 

 

I thought it may have been the dwg i was tryng to import so i created a simple dwg to try . Still no luck 

 

Im using Inventor 2010 Pro on a Win7 64 bit PC 

 

All help appreciatted 

 

Thanks 

Valued Mentor
Mike.Wohletz
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 2 of 4 (140 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 import dwg issue

04-16-2012 07:59 PM in reply to: bigfilsing

Are you able to open the file with DWGTrue View? if so have you recently updated DWGTrue View to a newer version? This is what Inventor uses to translate AutoCAD DWG files so it is important that it is working and I would try to keep the versions the same if possible. 

 

Active Contributor
bigfilsing
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-14-2009
Message 3 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 import dwg issue

04-17-2012 12:12 AM in reply to: Mike.Wohletz

Hi Mike thanks for the quick reply

I havent used DWG True view for a while and certainly havent updated it.

I will try some thing out later and report back

 

I have updated Inventor 2010 all the way to SP4 and thinking back the issues may have arrived since the update from SP3 to SP4.

 

Ill get back to you

 

Regards

 

Phil  

Active Contributor
bigfilsing
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-14-2009
Message 4 of 4 (125 Views)

Re: Inventor 2010 import dwg issue

04-17-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: bigfilsing

Well what do you know . i opened the dwg in true view and it worked fine. Then went back and tried again in Inventor.

 

Now all of a sudden it works .!!

 

Thanks for the direction Mike

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube