Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
terry.lee
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 1 of 7 (138 Views)

Info in title blocks

138 Views, 6 Replies
11-28-2012 01:59 AM

Hi.

 

I have a set of title blocks that were created in 2003.  I am now working in Inventor 2013.  All I need to do is replace information in one small box of the title blocks.  This contains 2 Jpeg images and 3 pieces of text.

 

I right click the title block name in the browser and choose "edit definition" to go into sketch mode and edit the information in there.  I have completed the first one.  Now I need to copy images and text together from within this first to use in other title blocks.  Could someone please advise how to do this?

 

When I try selecting the text and images and then select COPY (and ticking to clipboard) the images are deselected.  I have tried every obvious way of doing this but no luck.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks,

 

Terry

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,194
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: terry.lee

Terry,

What I have done in the past and it has worked is have both the old and the updated format up in session.

Go to the updated one and in the browser under "Drawing Resources" RC and select "Copy".

Then go to the older one and again in the browser under "Drawing Resources" RC and select paste.

When it prompts you to replace the existing select yes.

Hope this works for you.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Contributor
terry.lee
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 3 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: terry.lee

Hi.

 

Thanks for that.  Not sure if I explained the problem clearly though.

 

I have several borders and several title blocks.  The title blocks vary from drawing to drawing as they are for various industries and contain varying information.  However the box that contains the company Logo and copyright information has only two variations.  What I need to copy is just the contents of this box from one title block to another.  When I am in edit mode in a title block, whichever way I try to copy the info the options are not available.

 

I have also tried bringing in an AutoCAD block with the info.  That does not work as the jpeg images do not come through.

 

Do you have any ideas how I can pick up certain elements when in sketch mode (editing a title block) and copy them to a different title block?

 

Many thanks,

 

Terry 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,194
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 05:44 AM in reply to: terry.lee

Terry,

Sorry if I misunderstood.

I would do the same in having a few of them open in the same session and do a ctrl-C (copy) then ctrl-V (paste)

all within the edit definition of the title block.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Contributor
terry.lee
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 5 of 7 (105 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: terry.lee

Hi.

 

I did try this but it works only partially.  I can copy the text from one title block to the clipboard, close the title block and then open another and paste, but as soon as I select the jpegs the copy to clipboard option is greyed out.  What I need to do is select both text and Jpegs so that they maintain exatly the same position.

 

Many thanks,

 

Terry

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,194
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 7 (101 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: terry.lee

Yeah, I get that.

Short of creating a macro routine to do this, you might be stuck doing this manually.

Sorry that I don't have any more suggestions.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Contributor
terry.lee
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 7 of 7 (99 Views)

Re: Info in title blocks

11-28-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

No problem.  Many thanks for your help.

 

I am creating an outline for each image (that will copy and paste with text) in the first title block and then having to place the images over the outline and resize in each one.  A bit long winded and tedious (and not exact) but looks like the only option (unless anyone else knows a way to copy/paste images from one title block to another?). 

 

Again, many thanks.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube