Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Import .sat file and convert to 3D solid

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
Keith.Brown
7354 Views, 11 Replies

Import .sat file and convert to 3D solid

I have several .sat files that I have imported into inventor.  In the past when I have received the files and imported them in and saved as a dwg solid, they come save as a 3D solid.  The files that I have now when saved as a dwg solid come in as surfaces.  I am a complete novice with inventor and I am not sure on how to make it export as a 3D solid if it is even possible.   I have tried stitching them, but it comes up with alot of errors.

I am hoping to try and fix this without asking the manufacturer for their original files.  I am not sure if they will even release them.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12

Can you post one of them, zipped?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Message 3 of 12
Keith.Brown
in reply to: Keith.Brown

Here is a smaller one.

Message 4 of 12
JDMather

There are missing surfaces in the parts.
What Options do you have set on open?

You might check this information on fixing the parts

http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=class&session_id=3056

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 5 of 12