Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
GLasas
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 1 of 15 (299 Views)

How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

299 Views, 14 Replies
08-22-2009 05:23 AM
Hello,
I have big assembly and I want to get quick selection by cube or sphere or simple window. But if some elements (parts or assemblies) are in the pattern, they also selects. I don't need these other elements in the pattern. What the suggestion would be? Thank you
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 2 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-22-2009 07:26 AM in reply to: GLasas
Level of Detail or Design Views
--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr. Tel. (260) 399-6615
http://teknigroup.com
*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 3 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-22-2009 11:24 AM in reply to: GLasas
Set the selection dropdown to parts instead of components, it will ignore patterns but will select parts in the pattern that are contained by the simple window.
Contributor
GLasas
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 4 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-22-2009 11:41 AM in reply to: GLasas
Yes, of course, then you are selecting same elements all the time. But in my case I need to select differen assemblies or parts
Contributor
GLasas
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 5 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-22-2009 11:52 AM in reply to: GLasas
Usually I do as you said, but sometimes its not very good, because I need to select whole assemblies (whitch are in the selection window), not only parts. After selection I use Isolate and want to see assemblies. As I see its impossible :smileysad:
*Steven Dennis \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-25-2009 12:48 PM in reply to: GLasas
OK so what you need is a combination of Component Priority (which selects
"top level" objects like sub assemblies and patterns) and part priority
(which picks lowest level parts)...

I think what you are requesting is a way to temporarily (or maybe
permanently) change Component Priority to not select the entire pattern but
pick inside it according to whatever other selection rules you are
following...

As of 2010 there is no way to do that, we don't have the patterns as a
separately filterable selection target.

--
Steve Dennis
Autodesk Inventor Core Apps Tech Lead
wrote in message news:6241758@discussion.autodesk.com...
Usually I do as you said, but sometimes its not very good, because I need to
select whole assemblies (whitch are in the selection window), not only
parts. After selection I use Isolate and want to see assemblies. As I see
its impossible :smileysad:
*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 7 of 15 (299 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

08-25-2009 01:15 PM in reply to: GLasas
I would guess that most of us don't see patterns as components as such, we would tend to use patterns just as a quick method of inserting similar parts or assys in a regular arrangement.
Usually the only time we want to select a pattern is to edit or delete it.
Is there any other reason to pick a pattern? Even if you want to set it invisible this can be done by selecting all its parts.

What would be handy would be a filter similar to the custom filter in the drawing environment where you can set a custom list of standard objects that you want to select, say all parts and assys.

I probably use select all occurrences most often to set either a view rep or colour style to parts or assys in a pattern without selecting the pattern.

Most of the modelling selections are variations on an geometric shape box,sphere or one side of a plane.
I don't often use these as they are so similar to the window select.

Maybe custom filter should be a wishlist item.
That's my tuppence worth.
Member
davidgwoolard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-21-2012
Message 8 of 15 (227 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

09-21-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: harco

Does Inventor 2010 have the funcationality discussed above yet?  Can you select an assembly or subassembly that is a part of a pattern from the window, using your mouse, instead of having to go to the model tree, expand the pattern, and hover over each component of that pattern until the part or subassemly that you desire to edit is highlighted in the window????  

 

Currently, I have been instruced to delete the pattern.  Then you can use the mouse in the model window to visually select the assembly, or subassembly you desire to edit.  You can then either open that assembly, or note the part number.  You can then undo the deletion of the pattern (basically you are reapplying the pattern).  You then search for that part number in the pattern within the model tree, and open it to edit.  This is a long tedious process when you should be able to right click an assembly in the model window and open that for editing, even if it is a part of a pattern.  

 

 

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 9 of 15 (214 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

09-21-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: davidgwoolard

I'm going to assume that asking if 2010 has it yet was a mistake.

If you organized and named your patterns in a logical fashion it would be a non-problem.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Member
davidgwoolard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-21-2012
Message 10 of 15 (209 Views)

Re: How to select elements when some of them are in patterns

09-21-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: GLasas

No, asking if 2010 offered that funcationality was not a mistake.  It is possible that things like this can be fixed in updates, patches, addons, etc. 

 

Also, sure if you do everything different from the beginning, this would not be an issue.  But I did not ask how to avoid the issure, I asked a specific question. I am working with models made years back by previous engineers.  Please answer the question asked and not make non-related suggestions.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.