Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create an animation of coils winding around two shaft?

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
yuhanes
2409 Views, 12 Replies

How to create an animation of coils winding around two shaft?

Good morning. My name is Yuhanes Dedy and I am doing a Master program. Currently, I am still working on creating an animation of winding coil machine and the most difficult thing in creating this animation is on creating animation when the coil winds around two shafts. I use Autodesk Inventor 2011 and in the attachment files, I upload the inventor files so you can open it. 
I would like to ask how to make the animation that show more similar process with the real machine. Is it possible to create such kind of animation using Inventor? Because I also got advice that it seems difficult to create such kind of animation without using 3ds Max. Please give me some advice about it. I have been thinking about how to solve this for few days, but I got no useful results. Thank you very much,

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Mark.Downes
in reply to: yuhanes

Hi yuhanes,

I am using Inventor 2014 so you won’t be able to open this part, but a trick I use to animate a coil (my part is made up example) is make a 3D sketch, use a point at one end, pattern a point along a 3D sketch, use work plans normal to curve on point, sketch on these planes, use loft with Centre line (3D sketch as guide)

Hope this make a bit of sense (see video attached)

Cheers

Mark

Inventor 2014

Capture-01.JPG

Cheers
Mark
Inventor 2018, 3DS Max 2018, Vault 2018
Message 3 of 13
yuhanes
in reply to: Mark.Downes

Dear Mark Downes