Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to constrain a line to the center of curve (3D sketch)

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
diaz8793
822 Views, 9 Replies

How to constrain a line to the center of curve (3D sketch)

I'm new at using 3D sketches and am having some trouble with it. Here's what I have so far:

1.jpg

I made a bunch of lines, then used the bend command to make curves where they intersected. I'm trying to put lines connecting A to C and B to D. How do I constrain the ends of the lines to the center of the curves?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
JDMather
in reply to: diaz8793

Attach your file here.

There is a way with chord and sketch points, but I suspect there might be an even easier way depending on your geometry.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 10
diaz8793

Attached is the assembly file for the frame and the associated sketch.

Message 4 of 10
diaz8793

Whoops, wrong file. This is the edited one with the bends.

Message 5 of 10
JDMather

Well, I was all prepared to show you how to do the line in 3d sketch as you requested - but you are doing wayyyyyyyyyy too much work.  All of your work is planar - recreate this as 2d sketches.  Farrrrrrrrrrr easier to create and especially to edit.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 6 of 10
JDMather
in reply to: JDMather

I assume you are going to Frame Generator with this.

You don't need these corners as Inventor will snap to the points.

3d sketch.PNG