Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 1 of 8 (1,020 Views)

How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

1020 Views, 7 Replies
05-31-2012 10:42 AM

I used the Active Constraint opition to make the parts interact but I cant figure out how to animate it. I know it is possible, I just have no idea how to. Could any one possibly tell me or give me a link showing how to?? 

Distinguished Contributor
hfds006
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 2 of 8 (976 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-06-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

Have you had any luck sorting this out?

I'd love to see the end result.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,333
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (962 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-06-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

I think you will need to set that up in Dynamic Simulation and then Publish to Studio.

That one is particularly easy - can you attach your assembly here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 4 of 8 (942 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-09-2012 09:37 PM in reply to: JDMather

Here is all the part files including the assembly. And whats is Dyanamic simulation? I was trying to use Inventor Studio but is Dynamic simulation easier?                                                                    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39599771/Geneva%20Drive.rar

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,333
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (933 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

I am not interested in going to a third party site to see your files.

Attach here as suggested.

Dynamic Simulation is part of Inventor Professional (students can download Inventor Professional for free from http://www/autodesk.com/edcommunity).

 

If you can attach your files here I can show you how simple this problem is. (and don't use *.rar either)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 6 of 8 (925 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 07:57 AM in reply to: JDMather

Ok, sorry. I didnt know I could just attach it here. And theres one more part to the assembly I'll attach in the next post. 

Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 7 of 8 (924 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: JDMather
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,333
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (916 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

First thing I notice is that some of your sketches are not constrained.

Second thing I noticed is that the drive pin on the Input gear is Ø14 and the slot on the Geneva is also 14mm.

This won't work in the real world.

Some pins will be slightly larger and some slightly smaller depending on the manufacturing tolerance.
Sole slots will be slightly smaller depending on the manufacturing process.

Even if the manufacturing process was exact - there would still need to be clearance between the parts.

 

Since all of the sketches were not dimensioned - I did not bother to check other for other conflicts.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube