Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Chand777
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 5 (237 Views)

How can i insert a frame generator in bends????

237 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 08:12 PM

I want to insert a channel section in bends... but  i cant select that surface to insert frame... So What can i do... Pls suggest me how to do..... Thank you in Advance....

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,967
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (218 Views)

Re: How can i insert a frame generator in bends????

11-17-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: Chand777

The problem with Frame-Gen is that each line segment creates a single part (member) within Frame-Gen. The picture shows 2 different runs. The lower Z is a group of 3 lines and 2 fillets on a sketch. This will produce 5 items within the F-G module (line items 001 to 005). 

 

The upper tube (funny curved run) is a single poly line. Since this is a single line only one tube member (006) was added to the Frame-Gen module.

Capture.JPG

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,355
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 5 (212 Views)

Re: How can i insert a frame generator in bends????

11-17-2012 02:12 PM in reply to: blair

blair wrote:

The problem with Frame-Gen is that each line segment creates a single part (member) within Frame-Gen. ....


If you don't select Merge.

 

If you do select Merge - only one frame member is created.

 

Member Merge.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,967
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (205 Views)

Re: How can i insert a frame generator in bends????

11-17-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks, learned something new today (don't use F-G alot).

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 5 of 5 (182 Views)

Re: How can i insert a frame generator in bends????

11-18-2012 04:23 PM in reply to: blair

Merge is great but causes some problems. You can't then use some of the other Frame commands like Trim/Extend, Mitre and such. To acheive these you have to do in place editing of the FG member and scuplt and such. I'm using 2012 and am unsure if this has been fixed in 2013.

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube