Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help flattening a simple sheet metal part

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
622 Views, 8 Replies

Help flattening a simple sheet metal part

When I try to flatten the attached part it only flattens a portion of it.  The remainder of the part then remains curved.  The part was produced from the "thicken/offset" comand and created from the "make part" comand.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
BarryZA
in reply to: Anonymous

I'm no expert but it looks like this part was not created using the sheet metal tab/tools.

What if you derive your reference part as a surface, then convert to sheet metal straight away. Then start a new sketch, project your single face (without thickness) and then use the contour flange command.

Rather use the sheet metal tools to "thicken" a sheet metal part, then it should unfold.

The only time I derive a sheet metal part is when I do a mirror image of an existing sheet metal part.

Message 3 of 9
mrattray

I may be mistaken, but that looks like a double curved bend. If it is, then Inventor will not flatten it no matter what you do (unless you change the design).
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Message 4 of 9
JDMather

There is nothing technically wrong with using Thicken as long as you produce valid geometry that Inventor sheet metal unfolder can use, but close examination reveals questionable geometry before I even begin to check for a warped surface.

Sheet Metal.png

Can you attach the original file here with the trimmed surface?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 5 of 9
Anonymous