Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Helix equation and API

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
bogiedreamer
553 Views, 9 Replies

Helix equation and API

Hi,
I am new to inventor. I wonder if I can use equations in API to define a spring path.
For example, putting these equation in a loop where t = 0 to 31
x = cos(t)
y = sin(t)
z = t

and the profile of the spring can be round or rectangular.

thank you,
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: bogiedreamer

You might find that you get a better response from the Inventor Customization (VBA and VB) n/g http://discussion.autodesk.com/forum.jspa?forumID=120 news://discussion.autodesk.com/autodesk.inventor.customization There's also a API help on the main menu under Help --> Programming Help From my limited knowledge of VB(A) you can use all trigonometric equations. HTH Duncan -- "Humour ... is one man shouting gibberish in the face of authority, and proving by fabricated insanity that nothing could be as mad as what passes for ordinary living." (Terence 'Spike' Milligan K.B.E., 1918-2002) "bogiedreamer" wrote in message news:11395271.1096606783353.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Hi, > I am new to inventor. I wonder if I can use equations in API to define a > spring path. > For example, putting these equation in a loop where t = 0 to 31 > x = cos(t) > y = sin(t) > z = t > > and the profile of the spring can be round or rectangular. > > thank you,
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous