Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Harness manufacturing with Inventor

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
twinz3950
498 Views, 3 Replies

Harness manufacturing with Inventor

I have posted several question on this forum regarding inventor cable and harness to create a complete wire harness, and the responses have been very helpful.  I have now created my harness which is complex and involves a large number of wires (approx. 150 individual wires) and connectors.  I know that the next step is to create a nail board drawing to document the harness.  This is the first time the company I work for has attempted creating a wire harness and I am not an electrical engineer, so I am not familiar with what the standard practice is for documenting wire harnesses.  What information must I put on the nail board drawing? Do I needed to break each wire down with its own individual Print?  If anyone could please help me or give any suggestion as how you document  wire harnesses would be very helpful.  This harness is used for agricultural machinery, and we will be manufacturing this harness in house.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
mcgyvr
in reply to: twinz3950

Has your company ever had nailboard drawings before?

Is there an EE there or someone how IS familiar with your companies requirements....if so ask them as that answer will be far better than any answer you get here.

The answer really is "it depends.. the drawing (be it nailboard type or something else) should have enough information for someone to easily understand and be able to manufacturer that harness at your company"

Frankly this is an internal discussion you need to have at your company.