Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Managment - Where to save common parts

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
ProfileLightingLtd
1323 Views, 8 Replies

File Managment - Where to save common parts

Hi All

I am new to inventor, our company is looking to move away from AutoCAD for product design.

I have created parts that will be used over again in multiple projects, where should these be saved to stop the message "The location of the selected file is not in the search path of the active project file." I know I can turn the message off but I am wondering if there should be somewhere particular I should save these components.

Currently I have a project folder called Components in my dropbox account so I can share these at work and at home. My intention is to put all my components into subfolders inside this folder.

So in the folder I have created sub folders listing component groups eg Terminal Blocks, lamps, ballasts etc. In those folders I have created more subfolders.

Is this acceptable or is this work flow wrong? When I have created most of the components needed I will want to move this folder onto my works network.

Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Hi there,

The currently active 'Project File' definies the location of your 'workspace'.

Your workspace is the file location in which Inventor will automatically revert to when opening and saving files and Inventor will automatically search for files in this location if files have moved.

I would suggest that you go Get Started -> Projects

Workspace.png

From here you should be able to redefine the workspace location (by right clicking where I have highlighted) to match the folder which you use for your engineering projects.  This should stop that message appearing and help things run smoother.

Wayne Helley