Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Management and Inventor Vault

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
562 Views, 9 Replies

File Management and Inventor Vault

I need some guidance from the seasoned pro's here on this forum. I  just started a new job and my direct supervisor ( Lead Designer) was only hired 2 months before me and just started using inventor when he started the job.  I have been using Inventor for about 3 years now.  My question is that I have always practiced good file management at every level of a project from single parts to large assemblies; however at this new job the file management is horrible, in the last 3 years the company has been through 13 different drafters, thus each drafter was saving files in different location and names making finding parts and assemblies a nightmare. The problem I am having is that the lead designer is insisting that we implement vault, and that it will solve our problems, However I feel that we needed to develop a universal file and naming convention first, get  our file hierarchy in order before we try and implement vault. Am I wrong in thinking this way or is using vault a better Idea. There will only be 2 of us accessing the cad files and I don't think that vault would even be a good fit for our work flow.  Any suggestion on how to approach and solving this dilemma?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
IgorMir
in reply to: Anonymous

You are on the right track. But it will take some time to get it sorted. Plus - you will need a full support and understanding from the company's management.