Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export ipt to make surfaces in Rhino

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
henryanthony
2344 Views, 9 Replies

Export ipt to make surfaces in Rhino

Hi,

I am an art student and not a CAD pro so please excuse me if the wording of my question is poor.

I have created a sketch of a tent in Inventor 10. I used Inventor because I have experience using it in high school robotics competitions and like the parametric features. I would like to use the sketch in Rhino or 3DS Max from which to build surface meshes. My problem is that I cannot import just a sketch into Rhino or 3DS. I can only import polygons. 

I know that this may be better answered in a Rhino or 3DS forum but, if anyone has any insight to a solution or workaround, I would very much appreciate your help. In the end I may have to recreate the sketch in Rhino or 3DS but am on a tough deadline with many other projects due and am hoping not to have to redo the work. 

I have attached the file if anyone would care to have a look.

Thank you,

Henry

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
mcgyvr
in reply to: henryanthony

Don't use Rhino.. but can't you just export the tent as an STL file from Inventor and import that into Rhino..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 10
rdyson

Define "sketch of a tent".

Step supports wires. Rhino will read wires in step.

PDSU 2016
Message 4 of 10
henryanthony
in reply to: rdyson