Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
llee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 1 of 10 (1,475 Views)

Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only result.

1475 Views, 9 Replies
03-25-2013 03:09 PM

As the thread title states, my .idw to Autocad .dwg export fails & produces no output whatsoever.

 

In the Export/Save-As dialog, when I select Autocad .dwg & then click the "Options" button, the windows blue-circle briefly flickers and then there is no other activity - the options dialog simply never appears.

 

If I click the "Save" button, I get a "Problems encountered while saving the document." message box.
Behavior is identical whether selecting "export" or "save-as" in the menu - simply doesn't work or produce ANY output other than the error message.

 

Export did work with this installation - don't know at what point it was "broken" - my guess is after one of the Service Pack installations?

Inventor .dwg & .dxf export appear to work fine still.

 

 

Any assistance will be most appreciated - Thanks!

 

~Kerry

 

 

2013 Product Design Suite, SP1.1, Update 2 installed.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (1,463 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

03-25-2013 04:13 PM in reply to: llee

Export>Eport to DWG>Save as type:

 

Double check you are in the Export and not Save-As area.

 

Can you open your Autocad product.

 

Installing .NET 4.5 seems to solve a number of problems the last while. Not sure what is going on with .NET 4.0 and Microsoft Windows.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Member
llee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 3 of 10 (1,441 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

03-26-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: blair

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried installing (re-installing?) .NET 4.5, but see no change.

 

I've tried both export & save-copy-as, they function identically & apparently in the same dialog window (except for the file-type options presented) on my home machine where export isn't "broken".  Exporting to dwg is something which I've done thousands of times & continue to on my other machine - something is definitely glitched-up with the software.

 

Autocad does appear to function fine - I can open an Inventor.dwg, and save it as an older dwg format.  Also, Inventor saves to Inventor.dwg, dwf, pdf, jpg, etc. format just fine  - it seems to only be an issue with the Acad.dwg export.

Nothing but a brief blue-circle flicker when I click "Options", and "Problems encountered when saving the document" message when I hit "Save".

 

Any other suggestions out there before I suck it up and do a re-installation?

 

Thanks,

~Kerry

 

2013 Product Design Suite, SP1.1 Update 2 installed.

Win7Pro-64

ASUS Rampage 3, i7-960, 24GB

nVidia GTX560

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,802
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 4 of 10 (1,437 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

03-26-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: llee

Hi llee,

 

This seems unlikely based on your description above, but is it possible the Options dialog is just coming up off screen?
 If so this link might help:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/missing-dialog-box.html

 

Just something to rule out I suppose.

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Member
llee
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 5 of 10 (1,430 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

03-26-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

No sir, the cursor/focus remains on the export dialog box after that brief flicker, so it doesn't appear that the Options dialog is opening at all.  That was the first thing I thought when this problem cropped-up.

 

I have experienced the off-screen dialog issue before & use that move trick occasionally.  I think it was that tip on your site with I landed on for the solution a couple of years ago - so thanks for that!

Active Contributor
cnewmanVIK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 6 of 10 (1,316 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

05-15-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: llee

Just wondering if you ever found a fix for this or if you ended up re-installing?  I have a co-worker that is having the same problem.  Inventor 2013 Ultimate, was SP1, but updated to SP2 and still have the problem.

New Member
tehumbert
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 7 of 10 (1,204 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

06-28-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: llee

Having this same problem. Any tips? I am currently using Inventor Profession 2013 SP2. My boss needs to insert this assembly into a bigger assembly in AutoCAD and I am having trouble exporting it for him to insert. 

Active Contributor
cnewmanVIK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 8 of 10 (1,195 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

06-28-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: llee

We tried a few different things here.  Nothing worked, so we ended up re-installing Inventor.  That fixed it up.

Member
jferrell
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 9 of 10 (1,036 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

09-16-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: llee

I just had a user with this same problem. I installed all service packs and updates for Inventor and AutoCAD and that didn't work. I was just about to re-install when I found the solution.

 

Somehow his default program for .dwg files had been set to Fusion. I changed the default back to AutoCAD and that fixed the problem. Hope this helps someone.

 

New Member
jeeles123
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 10 of 10 (974 Views)

Re: Export .idw to Autocad .dwg failure - no dialog box & error msg is only

09-26-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: llee

I was having this same issue. I tried some of the suggestions but ended up going to uninstall programs in control panel and as you uninstall you are given the option to add an remove features. In there there was a restore defaults button that worked for me.

 Jim

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube