Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynamic Simulation for Kinematic analysis of linkage

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Loremaster72
3674 Views, 9 Replies

Dynamic Simulation for Kinematic analysis of linkage

Greetings.  I'm new to dynamic simulation and am having trouble running a simple kinematic analysis on a linkage.  I'm trying to determine the vertical force on the end of an excavator boom throughout its range of motion, as generated by the boom cylinders.  I have been studying the tutorials and have skimmed through Wasim Younis' book on dynamic simulation.  In my case, I have a simplified model prepared and moving correctly.  I have fixed the redundant constraints.  I know what angle the boom will move through, and what the maximum force on the cylinder piston is.  I have been driving the boom by controlling the angle of the boom, and it moves correctly when I run the simulation.  I have tried a couple of techniques for applying the force to the cylinders, once as an external force, once as a force on the constraint between the rod and barrel of the cylinders.  Unfortunately, I can't find a way to probe force at the end of the boom as it moves through its range.  I even applied a spatial constraint between the base frame and the tip to try to querry, but all I get is a 0 force at the boom tip.  I have to be missing something simple.  Can someone please point me in the right direction?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
JDMather
in reply to: Loremaster72

Attach your assembly here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 10
Loremaster72