Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
Winks87
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎05-08-2012
Message 1 of 5 (172 Views)

Default material for Frame Genertor

172 Views, 4 Replies
02-11-2013 04:07 AM

Is there a way to set the default material in Frame Generator?  I have a custom library for Content Center so I can modify that if needed.  I would like structural members to default to ASTM A36 for example.

 

Inventor Pro 2013 (product design suite)

James Winkler

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Vault Professional 2014
Windows 7 Pro SP1
HP-Z400: 2.67 GHz 12 Gb Ram
Nvidia Quadro FX1800 driver 276.42


Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 2 of 5 (149 Views)

Re: Default material for Frame Genertor

02-11-2013 05:50 PM in reply to: Winks87
I'm thinking you need to edit the CC family and then edit the Material column to make your ASTM a36 as default.
Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,199
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 5 (134 Views)

Re: Default material for Frame Genertor

02-12-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: Winks87

When I created Unistrut beams to use in my frame generator I created both carbon steel and SS.

They both come into the frame with the respective materials as I had when I published them.  So I am in agreement that if you want a custom material you are going to have to republish the beam pieces you want in the material you need.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 4 of 5 (121 Views)

Re: Default material for Frame Genertor

02-12-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: Winks87
When you edit the CC family there is a material 'wizard' in there somewhere. Use it to copy all of the existing Family rows to new rows (In the same family) with the difference being the material. Then delete or suppress the rows you don't want. Or just change the material of the existing rows. Do this to the first row and then drag that dwn like in excel.

You can follow Cadmanto's suggestion or just add new rows to the existing cc family. Sorry for the vagueness about the wizard. Computer is down and my memory is bad!
Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
Active Contributor
cmharb
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 5 of 5 (115 Views)

Re: Default material for Frame Genertor

02-12-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: BLHDrafting

make sure the section shape/size is available in material, else you will have trouble buying it.

w7u-64sp1,iv14,intel.xeon.e5-2620 0 @2.00 2.00-32gb,gtx560-4gb

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube