Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
phils-ams
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 1 of 13 (371 Views)

Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

371 Views, 12 Replies
10-16-2012 06:15 PM

I have been trying to add my own shapes to the Content Centre, with some success, but for being able to use them in Frame Generator. I was able to Author a new part and publish it to Structural Shapes and it works very well. However when I try to use it in Frame Generator there is an issue that I do not understand. Frame Generator recognises the family and all of the different sizes and materials, but when it come to inserting the part, i get the following message:

 

Capture2.PNG

 

I am not sure what this means. The part family is in my own library in a seperate category. I don't know what/where template file needs to be and is that the same ipt file that I used to create the Content Centre part/shape? Do I need to create a new Standard rather than "attaching" it to the AS Standard? Many thanks for any help....

 

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 2 of 13 (363 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 07:20 PM in reply to: phils-ams

Congratulations on your CC success!

 

You'll want to use the Structural Shape tool.  It's a pull-down next to the Coponent tool (in 2012, at least).  Then your shapes will be available to FG.

 

Good Luck and Good Frame Generating!:robotlol: 

Active Member
phils-ams
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 3 of 13 (359 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 07:27 PM in reply to: jdavis417

Yes - I went through Structural Shape to publish the part and it is available inside Frame Generator. My problem comes after selecting the part, selecting the sketch, selecting the orientation of the part on the sketch, saving the frame/skeleton..... then that alert pops up!

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 4 of 13 (355 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 07:43 PM in reply to: phils-ams

Total WAG... rebuild your custom CC library.?!

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 5 of 13 (350 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 07:52 PM in reply to: jdavis417

sorry... "Update" not "rebuild"

Active Member
phils-ams
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 6 of 13 (344 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 08:21 PM in reply to: jdavis417

Sorry - have tried that as well - didn't help.....

Distinguished Contributor
jdavis417
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 7 of 13 (337 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 08:59 PM in reply to: phils-ams

Re-read (or should I say, read) your OP... (sorry for the selective blindness):smileyembarrassed:

 

I found an interesting bullet in my Mastering 2009 book that suggests that in the Family Porperties pane, the standard organization is used to categorize the member during insertion.

 

It doesn't say it HAS to be standard... I dunno, just trying like heck to be helpful (for a change).

Active Member
phils-ams
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 8 of 13 (332 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 09:39 PM in reply to: jdavis417

Yes - you are correct. You do not have to have a Standard Organization listed (I have since discovered this myself through experimentation). If there is no standard organization included, FG inserts an "unknown" listing. I originally put it in AS because that is where the rest of my modified structural shapes are and it was easy to find.

 

Thankyou for your thoughts and ideas!

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 9 of 13 (326 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 10:29 PM in reply to: phils-ams

Can you place the CC part into an assy, not as an FG member, just a PLACE FROM CC?

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
Active Member
phils-ams
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 10 of 13 (320 Views)

Re: Custom Content Centre Shapes and Frame Generator

10-16-2012 10:42 PM in reply to: BLHDrafting

Oh Yes - straight from Content Centre it works a treat - the 3 heights created in the parameters dialogue transferred to the structural shape authoring - the process to create the structured shape worked quite well although there are some steps missing from the help pages. Apart from not being able to use it in FG due to the alert I am really pleased with the outcome.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube