Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 1 of 4 (619 Views)

Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

619 Views, 3 Replies
11-19-2012 07:40 AM

I knew this is not a new problem, and I do search some people's solution. Even I followed up their way as

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Surface-Models-Convert-to-Solids/m-p/3452492/highlig...)

 

, but still I cannot get correct solid model when I try to convert attached STEP model to IPT. I just can get surface model, but I do not solid one.

 

Could somebody help me to convert it to solid model (ipt)?

 

Your help will be much appreciated.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 (64 Bit) SP2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,342
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (610 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

There are many surfaces missing.
As this is simple geomtry - it might be fastest to simply redraw it using the original only for reference.

 

Why would you need it as a solid body - isn't this an off-the-shelf purchased item?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,086
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 3 of 4 (606 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

looks like a lot of your holes thru the part need to be patched, you can either patch the surface hole and lose them in the solid, or you can draw a surface cylinder wetween each face where the holes occur...

 

Turning composite non transluccent might help you spot these problems

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 4 of 4 (591 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

Thanks lot for your suggestion.

 

Unfortunately, this 3D model is provided by vendor.

 

Looks like I have to use surface model.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 (64 Bit) SP2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube