Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
waytime
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 1 of 10 (969 Views)
Accepted Solution

Content Centre Files

969 Views, 9 Replies
07-05-2012 03:16 AM

Hi,

 

We have just updated to Inventor 2013 (from 12) and none of our models which contain BSi libraries are working. I undestand BSi is within 'Other' CC library.

 

I have tried copying the idcl files from 2012 CC libraries into  into 2013 but Inventor 2013 is not recognizing them. Within the 'update libraries' dialogue box the are listed in red and 'not available'

 

I've been floundering around for a few days now trying various fixes from the net without success. I'm sure there is a simple solution. Please advise.

 

I've attached some screenshots of applicable stuff.

 

Regards

 

Alan

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,021
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (952 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-05-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: waytime

Did you Migrate them to the newer version? The RH lower icon will start the migration process.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Member
waytime
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 3 of 10 (947 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-05-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: blair

Hi,

 

I assume you mean the update button. Attached screen grab is message I get when I try to update

 

Cheers

 

Al

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,021
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 10 (945 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-05-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: waytime

Check your permissions for the directory that you have placed them in. You might be in a Read-Only for the directory.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 10 (922 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-06-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: waytime

Delivered CC libraries are read-only.  Use the libraries delivered with 2013.

 

However, you state that your "models which contain BSi libraries" are not working.  But models do not contain libraries.  The CC library is the source for the components that are placed in your assembly models, but the actual CC component files are stored wherever your application options (File tab, Default Content Center Files) or project options (Folder Options > Content Center Files) direct them to be stored.  So you need to first find where Inventor 2012 was placing them.

 

It appears from your screen shots that you did not install the 2013 Other library (AI2013_Inventor OTHER.idcl).  Do that, since you cannot migrate the 2012 read-only library.  Then figure out where the created CC components were stored in 2012, and where you want them to be stored in 2013.  I'd recommend a shared location so you don't have this problem next year.

Active Member
waytime
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 6 of 10 (897 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-09-2012 01:34 AM in reply to: sbixler
Spoiler
 

Hi,

 

Thanks for the replies. I'll check with our IT department regarding 'read only' folders but I suspect that could be part of the problem as the 'programme data' folder is probably only fully accessible to our IT department. I'll move everything to a shared folder and re-map inventor to that area.

 

Regarding 'Other 2013', where can I download this from? My installation was a download from Autodesk and I can't remember getting a choice of libraries during installation.

 

Cheers

 

Alan

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 10 (885 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-09-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: waytime

During installation, you are able to configure install options for each component of the suite (by clicking the down arrow under the component name).  Under the desktop content center configuration you can choose which libraries to install.  Are you using one of the Suites (Product Design or Factory Design)?

Active Member
waytime
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 8 of 10 (881 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-09-2012 05:34 AM in reply to: sbixler

I'm using Product design suite Ultimate, stand alone version. A couple of the other guys here have Inventor only stand alone and we also have a network version Product design suite Ultimate just to confuse things!

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 9 of 10 (880 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-09-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: waytime

Whichever product is on your machine, use that install disk to get the Other library installed, then copy to the other machines or your shared network location.

Active Member
waytime
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 10 of 10 (865 Views)

Re: Content Centre Files

07-09-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: sbixler

Thanks, Fixed and working.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.