Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constraining a part to a Point

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
jeddell
423 Views, 9 Replies

Constraining a part to a Point

Hi,

I apologise if this has been asked or of this question is in the wrong area. I am very new with inventor and am playing with some simple modelling to try and better my experience.

I've attached an image to this post in the hope to better explain what I'm trying to do.

I am assembling a weldment and need to place a looped bar onto a tubular stanchion 50mm below the top of the stanchion. I have made axis at each point on the stanchion and the bar, but i cant figure out how to contrain the loop to the point I require. All I can get it to do it to constrain to the centre of the stanchion only.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
JDMather
in reply to: jeddell

@jeddell wrote:

I have made axis at each point on the stanchion and the bar,

It is unclear if you made a workpoint at these locations.
Make a workpoint in each part and then constraint the workpoints.
There might be easier ways to constrain - attach your assembly here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 10
jeddell
in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for the prompt reply. Not sure how to set a "workpoint"?

Have attached the assembly, but I'm not sure if you'll be able to open it. I dont know how to export from inventor so all parts will go with it.

If it does work, and you manage to figure it out, I would appreciate the steps on how you did it?