Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configurations

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
901 Views, 4 Replies

Configurations

I am new to Inventor and am looking for the way Inventor does configurations. I come from a SolidWorks background

and there you could make multiple configurations of your assemblies. How does Inventor deal with configurations?

I did a search on configurations and not much came up. It might be that it is called something else in Inventor.

I would appreciate any help or advice.

Thanks

Randall

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Inventor has many ways to deal with configurations. They are named differently.

In Inventor Help, search on iAssemblies, Positional Representations, iParts, Adaptivity, iLogic, etc.

Message 3 of 5
cadman777

My work-flow had recently changed, and I need IV 2010 to work like SW "configurations".

The above doesn't provide enough information for me to make an informed decision on how to accomplish this.

I use assemblies instead of weldments in IV, b/c weldments hog resources and kill performance.

When using features in assemblies, this problem occurs:

The "machined" features disappear when the model changes.

This doesn't happen w/part files. The features "break", but they don't disappear.

This also happens with the "frame generator", which I use quite frequently.

QUESTION:

Is there a way to use assembly features (i.e., do "machining") in assemblies without the problems?

If so, what is the work-flow in Inventor?

Thanks ... Chris

... Chris
Win 7 Pro 64 bit + IV 2010 Suite
ASUS X79 Deluxe
Intel i7 3820 4.4 O/C
64 Gig ADATA RAM
Nvidia Quadro M5000 8 Gig
3d Connexion Space Navigator
Message 4 of 5
Anonymous

Was there ever a resolution to this problem.