Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
rjezuit
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2011
Message 1 of 8 (5,059 Views)
Accepted Solution

Changing Drawing Sheet Size

5059 Views, 7 Replies
06-14-2012 02:11 PM

I have 4 different sized drawing templates made, one each for A,B,C and D size. There are times when I start a drawing on a C size border/sheet and it gets too cluttered as I add views or annotations. Is there any way to insert/change the sheet size to the D sized template without starting over? 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,517
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (5,050 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-14-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: rjezuit

You should have all your sheet sizes, borders and titleblocks set up in the Drawing Resources of one template.

You can copy these from one file to another and simply right click to change.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
rjezuit
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2011
Message 3 of 8 (5,015 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-15-2012 01:56 PM in reply to: JDMather

Then would I have to setup each individual drawing every time depending on size? Pick sheet size , border and title block every time I create a drawing? It seems like I would be doing extra work on every single drawing produced versus changing the occasional drawing where I would run into this. 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,517
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (5,010 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-15-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: rjezuit

If most of your drawings are the same size then set this as default.

Alternatively you could simply have all information in one template, make appropriate active and then Save As template for that size.  Then simply start with what you think will be appropriate template, and if you end up needing to change - all of the information is in the drawing resources.

Set it once, and forget it.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
rjezuit
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2011
Message 5 of 8 (4,984 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-18-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: JDMather

I have not tracked which size I use the most, but I use all 4 sizes regularly. I thought it should be relaitvely easy like it is with AutoCAD, but I guess not. It would be nice if you could just cut and paste the existing borders/titlebloacks/sheet size into an existing drawing.

Active Contributor
helmartins
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Message 6 of 8 (4,974 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-18-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: rjezuit

Hi

 

the I logic can resolve your question.. Just changing the title blocks and the borders..

 

 Im having the same problem here(with the sheet sizes), but I'm getting an Ilogic error. I think when this one can be resolved, you can change the size without start over.

 

I post this issue in the link below. Hope to solve it soon. hehe

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Ilogic-error-changing-sheet-border-and-title-blocks/...

 

Helder Martins

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 8 (4,952 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-18-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: rjezuit

We have five different sheet sizes, but all the resources are in each drawing file: five borders and two title blocks.  That makes it relatively easy to switch: delete border (and possibly title block), change sheet size, add appropriate border (and possibly title block). 

 

We have an iLogic rule that runs on a new file to present the user with a choice of sizes, then set the sheet size and place the right border and TB.  I want to modfy it to also allow changing the size, keeping the prompted value field data that already exists.

New Member
alphil
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2014
Message 8 of 8 (760 Views)

Re: Changing Drawing Sheet Size

06-12-2014 07:43 AM in reply to: rjezuit

I've had the same issue a few times with Inventor 2013. If you go to the model tree on the left side of the screen, right click on "Sheet:1" (or whatever yours says), a menu pops up. Click "Edit Sheet" and in the box that subsequently pops up, there is the option to change the sheet size of your existing drawing without changing anything that you've done already (notes, dimensions, etc.). I've attached 2 photos for your viewing pleasure.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.