Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 1 of 6 (518 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change Comma to a Period

518 Views, 5 Replies
11-19-2013 01:19 PM

Descriptions are the hardest part for me to change???

 

I looked through other threads. I see a hotfix but for 2011. I have 2012...

Inventor 2012
Valued Mentor
graemev
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 2 of 6 (503 Views)

Re: Change Comma to a Period

11-19-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: jbelle7435

I would expect this is driven by the metric dimension style's decimal marker field:

 

Manage Styles - Dimensions - ( expand and pick the appropriate style) - Units (tab) - Units (zone) - Decimal Marker (dropdown list of two: decimal or comma.)

 

Maybe.

Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 3 of 6 (486 Views)

Re: Change Comma to a Period

11-19-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: graemev

tomorrow I will check this. Thanks

Inventor 2012
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 4 of 6 (450 Views)

Re: Change Comma to a Period

11-20-2013 05:15 AM in reply to: graemev

"Manage Styles - Dimensions - ( expand and pick the appropriate style) - Units (tab) - Units (zone) - Decimal Marker (dropdown list of two: decimal or comma.)"

 

 

#1. I followed your idea and lets say one of ALL my Dimension styles had a comma. DEFUALT(ISO). I changed that from comma to a period and it worked. Then I wondered how am I using DEFAUT(ISO) as my dimension style..????

 

#2. If you go to your Object Defaults: There is this one object called Hole Tag (See all objects to find it)Once your change that to your Dimension style with the Period and whatever decimals palces* you want then it works and is set in stone for that description column. Updating the Hole note object  is not good enogh to fix this issue!

 

*Dimesion style-->"notes and leaders" tab-->"Precision and tolerance" button-->Use global(Units tab)or set your own with the drop down Primary

Inventor 2012
Valued Mentor
Mason-Paul
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 6 (429 Views)

Re: Change Comma to a Period

11-20-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

"Then I wondered how am I using DEFAULT(ISO) as my dimension style..????"

 

IF you have several Dimension styles, as I do, from "ANNOTATE "select "DIMENSION", as normal, then from "FORMAT" in lower drop down saying "BY STANDARD" select dimension style you want to use from those displayed.

 

Selecting different saved dimension styles.

change dim style or standard.png

 

NOTE that in your menu may layout will be different from that shown as I moved the format box.

 

 

Bur before you can use a personal dimension style you'll need to BOTH create and save it

 

If your not to sure how to Crete and save customized Dimension styles I have several customized styles, most using the (.) as the decimal instead of (,), that I can let you have to get you going then all you have to do is import them.

 

================
Inventor 2014 Pro

HP xw8400 workstation
2 x Xeon duel-core 3Ghz CPU , 32 GB Ram
64bit Windows 7 Pro

AMD FirePro V3900 (ATI FireGL) (1GB RAM)
=================
Ashington Northumberland (UK) ~ Home to the WORLD FAMOUS Pitman Painters Group
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 6 of 6 (420 Views)

Re: Change Comma to a Period

11-20-2013 06:50 AM in reply to: Mason-Paul

I already created my own style and am happy with it. I fixed one bug but there will be more I run into. When you make your own style or how I did it, basically left stuff hanging out there to be fixed along the way. At least I know where to fix them and update my personel defaults....

Inventor 2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube