Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
CRAWSHAWRACING
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Message 1 of 5 (658 Views)
Accepted Solution

Bolted Connection between two C channels not working

658 Views, 4 Replies
06-29-2011 07:06 AM

Good morning all, I'm trying to connect two channels (bottom flange from one channel to the top flange of the other channel) using the bolted connection and linear positioning. I can select the start plane, both linear edges, hole size, but when I try to select the termination plane Inventor will not allow me to select anything. I've attached the file if that helps clear up any questions. Any help would be appreciated. 

 

Thank you for your time, Bob

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,178
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (656 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection between two C channels not working

06-29-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: CRAWSHAWRACING

Only the assembly is attached, not the parts that are in it.  We can't open it without the parts.  Try maybe "pack and go" and then zip it?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Contributor
CRAWSHAWRACING
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Message 3 of 5 (650 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection between two C channels not working

06-29-2011 07:34 AM in reply to: cbenner

Sorry about that, Kind of new to Inventor, attached are the files using Pack N Go

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,178
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 5 (647 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection between two C channels not working

06-29-2011 07:42 AM in reply to: CRAWSHAWRACING

As I suspected... botled connection only works if the start and termination plane are parallel.  Since these are the angled surfaces of 2 channels, they won't work.  Your best bet would be to create a work plane parallel to the start surface at an offset that defines where you want to end the connection, then you can select the work plane as your termination point.

 

Bear in mind that your start surface is also at an angle... if you want the bolted connection to be square to the world, you may need to either create 2 work planes to set start and finish... or you could "machine" a couple of flats on the channels where the bolts would go.  It all depends on what you want the final result to look like.

 

Good luck.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Contributor
CRAWSHAWRACING
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Message 5 of 5 (643 Views)

Re: Bolted Connection between two C channels not working

06-29-2011 07:46 AM in reply to: cbenner

Thank you very much for the information!! I'll use a work plane to get my results.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube