Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Inventor Series 7, Can't locate Vault or check in/out files

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
Jaker22
1097 Views, 18 Replies

Autodesk Inventor Series 7, Can't locate Vault or check in/out files

I am having issues saving parts i change, any new ones i create seem to be fine. When i open a file and try to change a part/assembly, a dialogue box shows up saying "part is checked out by another user and/or work space. Cannot save changes unless it is checked out to you." I am signed in to the computer under the name it says the file is checked out under, but i cant figure out how to check a file out. I looked online for help, but I am using Inventor Series 7 and I can't find info on it. I am new to Autodesk and the Vault system, and I'm not sure if i have a Vault Server or Vault Add-in because i can't find any Vault options inside of Autodesk. I noticed the old engineer that had my job before me had the same issues that were never resolved. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
-niels-
in reply to: Jaker22

Welcome to the forum!

From what i can get from your post i think the previous engineer might have use semi-isolated settings.
If you cannot find anything Vault related, then you probably aren't using it.

There are a couple of tools on charles bliss's website for "unreserving" or check in/check out, that might help solve your problem.
I have had to use one of them in the past, but i can't fully recall which one and how it worked exactly.
Just give both of them a go, start with the latest.
(they're located almost at the bottom of the page.)

http://www.cbliss.com/inventor/iCode/index.htm

Niels van der Veer
Inventor professional user & 3DS Max enthusiast
Vault professional user/manager
The Netherlands