Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
niall.smyth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 1 of 6 (537 Views)

Adding Text Parameters to Parts Published to Frame Generator

537 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2013 07:47 PM

I can publish a part containing a user text parameter to the content centre for use in frame generator however when I go to insert that part an error as per the attached screen shot.

 

To re-create the error you have to follow the below steps.

 

  1. Create a part with a text user parameter
  2. Publish for use in frame generator.
  3. Create frame with the part and an error will be created as per the attached screenshot.

 

Is there a way to work around this error being created and use parts with text user parameters in Frame Generator?

 

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Distinguished Contributor
VdVeek
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 2 of 6 (513 Views)

Re: Adding Text Parameters to Parts Published to Frame Generator

01-29-2013 01:51 AM in reply to: niall.smyth

What do you mean by : Create a part with a text user parameter?

I can't recreate your the error. Which inventor version do you use?

Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Associate & Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Professional.
Contributor
niall.smyth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 3 of 6 (494 Views)

Re: Adding Text Parameters to Parts Published to Frame Generator

01-29-2013 03:44 PM in reply to: niall.smyth

I am using Inventor 2013 with service pack 1.1. and update installed. 

 

When creating a part, go into the parameter table editor and add a text user parameter, you do not even have to assign a value in the equation column.  Just add a text user parameter and then create some geometry such as a square or circle and extrude so that you can publish the part as a structural member for use in frame generator.  Attached is a screen grab showing the parameter editor and a user added text parameter.

 

Cheers,

N

Distinguished Contributor
VdVeek
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 4 of 6 (483 Views)

Re: Adding Text Parameters to Parts Published to Frame Generator

01-30-2013 02:12 AM in reply to: niall.smyth

I'm using Inventor Prof 2012 SP2 64-Bit and i can reproduce your error when placing an user parameter.

Looks like a bug to me. The Numeric option is working, but the text and true/false are giving the same error.

Sorry I can't help you. Ask Autodesk for some help.

Rob.

Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Associate & Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Professional.
Distinguished Contributor
cparnell
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 5 of 6 (468 Views)

Thanks for posting.

01-31-2013 04:57 PM in reply to: niall.smyth

Niall:

 

I have had the same issue for a week or so now, and your post help me solve my issue. I could not figure out why I could publish other parts and save the iterations from Frame Generator and this other file I could not.

 

Thanks again for posting your fix.

 

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 6 of 6 (453 Views)

Re: Thanks for posting.

02-01-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: cparnell

Text parameters don't work in iParts / Content Center / Frame Generator parts.  It's not a bug, it's just the way the software was made.  One of my fondest dreams is that this will change for 2014 ...


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.