Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
wolterh6
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 1 of 13 (9,309 Views)

Adding Content Center Libraries

9309 Views, 12 Replies
11-06-2011 08:45 PM

I installed Autodesk Inventor 2012 which I was able to download because I am a student. The version I downloaded however, did not install libraries for the Content Center. The first thing I though was that the Content Center was a feature reserved for purchased versions of the program, but when I head to the downloads section I saw a link to download Content Center Libraries.

 

I downloaded the ISO and ANSI libraries to try out, and placed them in the directory where Inventor is supposed to search for them. When I started up Inventor, the Content Center was still empty. How can I use the libraries? I suspect Inventor is not reading them because they are Inventor 2010 libraries, but I am unable to use the Update Tool - it appears greyed out.

Employee
xiaoyan.qi
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 13 (9,284 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-07-2011 09:10 PM in reply to: wolterh6

Hi

 

you can open  the Content Cernter setting in the project-> Configure Content Center Libraries, and check whether there is available library(see my attached picture), and there is a link for Content center's library location, you can check whether you copy the Library to this location.

 

 

Let me know if it works

Thanks

Mick

Active Contributor
wolterh6
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 3 of 13 (9,276 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-07-2011 09:30 PM in reply to: xiaoyan.qi

Nah it didn't work. Take a look the screenshot I attached to give you a better perspective.Screenshot

Employee
xiaoyan.qi
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 13 (9,262 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-07-2011 10:34 PM in reply to: wolterh6

Sorry, i can't see the screenshot, can you check it?

Active Contributor
wolterh6
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 5 of 13 (9,253 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-08-2011 04:23 AM in reply to: xiaoyan.qi

Yes of course.. can you check again? The screenshot is uploaded and embeded in my previous post.

Valued Contributor
schae235
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 6 of 13 (9,248 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-08-2011 05:19 AM in reply to: wolterh6

Did you try setting the path in the Application Options?  Under the File tab there is a place were you can put the location of the "Default Content Center Files".  You'll want that path to be where you place the files. (Change either the path or where the files are)

INV 2012 SP1
Windows 7 64 Bit
ATI FirePro V5800
14.0 GB RAM
Employee
xiaoyan.qi
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 13 (9,233 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-08-2011 06:53 PM in reply to: wolterh6

oh, i see the problem from your screenshot, you want to use the 2010 Content center library in 2012 build, it's not work for Standard Libray, it only works on Customer Library.  

you can reinstall the Content Center and select your wanted Library or download the 2012 Library files.  

 

Thanks

Mick

Active Contributor
wolterh6
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 8 of 13 (9,231 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-08-2011 07:43 PM in reply to: wolterh6

I tried to select whether to download 2012 content center libraries or any other version, but I think only the 2010 version is available for dowload. Can you tell otherwise? Also, I read somewhere you could migrate content libratries from one year to another using the update tool, but as I said mine is greyed out - do you know how to fix this?

Employee
xiaoyan.qi
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 13 (9,220 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-09-2011 01:08 AM in reply to: wolterh6

I recommend you reinstall the Content center, as far as i know, there is no individual 2012 inventor library files in the web for download.

 

and the Update Tool only works on Customer library, but the libraries you downloaded is standard library, they are read-only, can't be migrated to 2012 by update tool. as for the update tool grey out in your machine, it's because there is no available library in your machine, you can try to create a library, the update tool should be enabled

 

 

Thanks

Mick

Active Contributor
wolterh6
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 10 of 13 (9,198 Views)

Re: Adding Content Center Libraries

11-09-2011 06:31 PM in reply to: xiaoyan.qi

How does that work? I can't see the download in the "Free Software" section. Can one install a 2010 Content Center and use Inventor 2012?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube