Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actual Physical Texture (not simulated appearance textures)

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
FtnHills
457 Views, 3 Replies

Actual Physical Texture (not simulated appearance textures)

Hi,

Inventor seems to do lots to allow for simulated appearance textures.   However, how does one use actual physical textures, e.g. for a plastic part?    I need one surface of the plastic part to be very rough/bumpy, another to be slightly rough/bumpy, and another to remain smooth/untouched.

Let me be forthright and say I have no background here in textures/plastics/molds etc., so verbose answers and/or any guidance is much appreciated.  

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: FtnHills

Can't do it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 4
FtnHills
in reply to: JDMather

Oh, common Smiley Indifferent   How does one use Inventor to build parts that have some texture?  Is there a way to convey texture outside of Inventor?

Related, is there an easy way that one can use Inventor to specify the surface boundaries that will get these canned textures?

Message 4 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: FtnHills

What is the manufacturing process to create the texture - perhaps a note will do.

To specify the area of the texture Split faces.

Attach your file here if you can't figure it out.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel