Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mcolinp
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Message 11 of 16 (242 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

11-15-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: blair

I can understand your point; but I had a while back tried installing on Windows 7 with the same issue; and Windows 8 actually seems to have huge under the hood improvements which seem to make performance in most areas better than Windows 7. (Despite some obvious buffs in the area of user experience; 8 Seems to be a huge improvement over 7 strictly from a performance standpoint.)

I am open to further testing or reporting of any data needed to resolve this.

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,944
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 16 (227 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

11-15-2012 09:46 PM in reply to: Clarkeng09

I don't have my laptop handy, but check the Nvidia control panel and see if there is an option to select the Nvidia card for your machine. I have a AlienWare machine and I can change between the Intel onboard and the Nvidia card.

 

I get completely different Windows performance results switching between the two graphics cards on my machine.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Contributor
mcolinp
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Message 13 of 16 (205 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

11-17-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: blair

My machine is a Server style board; no built-in graphics. See specs:

 

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4

2.83 Core-2 Quad (Q9500)

16 GB Gskill 800 mhz DDR2 Memory

SATA-1 SSD System Drive

1 GB Graphics (Nvidia 9800GT)

 

(I do realize my Graphics card is not a Quadro; which is preffered, but for 98.5% of it's use it woks with Autodesk software including Alias.)

Mentor
kmiller
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 14 of 16 (49 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

05-28-2014 06:33 AM in reply to: rangt

Has there been a fix posted for this?  I haven't found one just yet?  We have one user out of the group that seems to be having this issue.  I believe it occured when we installed Revit 2014 on his system, which inturn installed .net 4.5

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this response answers your question please click "Accept as Solution".
Employee
rangt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 15 of 16 (39 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

05-28-2014 07:26 AM in reply to: kmiller

For Inventor 2013, Service Pack 2 Update 3 was supposed to have solved most of our .NET4.5 compatibility problems.  The latest update is posted here:

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/inventor-products/downloads/caas/downloads/content/update-4-fo...

 

You'll need to install SP2 first.

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/inventor-products/downloads/caas/downloads/content/autodesk-in...

 

Let me know if that is not working for you.



Tom Rang
Software Quality Assurance Manager
DLS – Design, Lifecycle, & Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
kmiller
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 16 of 16 (25 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

05-29-2014 09:49 AM in reply to: rangt
Yes it worked for us. Thank you.

KATIE MILLER | CAD Systems Developer

Coldspring | Building Materials
17482 Granite West Road | Cold Spring, MN 56320-4578
P: 1.800.328.5040 | D: 320.685.4730 | F: 320.685.5052
www.coldspringusa.com | kmiller@coldspringusa.com
Follow us on Twitter | Facebook
This communication is intended only for the recipient(s) named above, may
be confidential and/or legally privileged, and must be treated as such in
accordance with state and federal laws. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are hereby notified that any use of this communication, or
any of its contents, is prohibited. If you have received this
communication in error, please return it to the sender and delete the
message from your computer system.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this response answers your question please click "Accept as Solution".

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube