Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

middle click emulation for trackpads ?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
kikko_fr
1761 Views, 2 Replies

middle click emulation for trackpads ?

Hi there,

As a future owner of a 3D printer I've started experimenting different CAD 3D software and so far Inventor Fusion is getting the most of my attention thanks to it's ease of use and its osx version of course.

Appart from some of the great missing features from the windows version (anchor and measure for press pull and measure tool for solids) I really wish there were a middle click emulation for trackpads which would make 3D manipulation a lot easier on trackpads.

For example, I have some good experience with Blender which has a middle click emulation option (Alt + drag to orbit & Atl + shift + drag to pan) and it makes 3D manipulation of the scene an absolute joy. I can imagine some engineers out there thinking it's impossible to be any serious with a trackpad when it comes to 3D modeling, but I know many top level 3D modelers who love it as well. I even think that because of its topology and its proximity to the keyboard, it makes switching from typing values / hotkeys and interacting with the scene a lot quicker.

So I wonder if you guys had planned to introduce that feature and if not what are the counter arguments ?

Thanks a lot,

Cyril Diagne
http://kikko.fr
@kikko_fr
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
schneik-adsk
in reply to: kikko_fr

Multi-touch gestures for track pads are on our list. Would this be a reasonable solution?

-Kevin Schneider

Kevin Schneider
Message 3 of 3
kikko_fr
in reply to: schneik-adsk

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for your reply!

Multitouch trackpad gestures would definitely be a nice thing to have in Fusion.